Chocolate Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I've made many a pecan pie, and this was one of the best. The recipe is similar to all the others but something (maybe the coffee?) made it a cut above. Don't bother with the cream; that's really gilding the lily. Thanks Jeannette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
The only reason I am giving 3 stars is because this pie was tasty but that was about it. I had to bake my pie for 60 minutes and the center was still soft. My pie came out runny. Did not dare bake it any longer because my pie crust was very dark and I used a pie crust ring the entire baking time. Was not what I was looking for. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Absolutely perfect! I ended up using 3/4 cup of mini chocolate chips as that was what I had on hand and this pie was amazing! I only lasted a day and a half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This pie was one of the best pies I have eaten. I made it just like it said except I left out the coffee.. and it came out perfect...I used a roll-out dough pie crust (premade). I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseKokkinopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galliano, Louisiana, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
My family LOVES pecan pie, and this one is fabulous! Great twist on the same ole same ole. The chocolate on the bottom was such a surprise but the flavors blended in a wonderful way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I used 1/2 a cup of chocolate chips and 1/2 a cup of butterscotch chips and my family couldn't get enough of this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
To-die-for delicious! Everyone, including my three young children, husband, and mother-in-law, loved this pie and couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIARE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was an amazing pie. I used a 9.5 in pie pan and the amount was perfect. I didn't get any spill-over. I had to increase the baking time by about 5 minutes. I also covered it for the first 30 minutes of baking to keep the crust from getting too brown. My family LOVED it and it's now my go to pie for family get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckie Elliott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This was not only a super easy recipe, but the results were great! I made it exactly as stated, and I found the coffee was a nice compliment to the chocolate. You don't really taste that there's coffee in the pie, but rather a nice hint of mocha. If I didn't know it was in the pie, I never would have known. One thing to point out is that I had enough filling for 2 full 9" pie shells (not deep dish, purchased in the freezer section at my local grocery store)rather than just one. That was great since I was making the pie for a gift.....then we had another one to try ourselves! It was delicious, rich and a perfect pie you will be proud to serve! This has now become my husbands favorite pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This pie is absolutely delicious! My husband made this pie twice this week - the first one only lasted 24 hours! And no, my husband is not a chef - this pie is just that simple! We didn't put in the instant coffee - but followed the rest to the "t." We used frozen pie crusts and they worked great - but i would recommend you put some foil under the pan, as it did spill out some as it was cooking (since frozen pie crusts are usually in more shallow pans). This is a fantastic recipe. We are going to be making 2 more pies this week for Christmas dinner! I can't wait! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States