Chocolate Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made this pie yesterday and took it to a potluck everyone raved. I didn't have any problems with it setting up. This was my first pecan pie. This is a keeper. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was my first time making pecan pie and I loved it and so did the rest of my family. Great mix of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jen859
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
great recipe, did not use the coffee either. I would not recommend cooking longer than suggested time. once top is just firm, it is done since pecan pies continue to cook after they come out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This pie was absolutely amazing! I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone that tried it said it was the best pecan pie they have ever had. I mixed 3/4 cup Giradelli mini chocolate chips with the pecan filling before putting in the pie shell. I also used 1 tsp instant expresso instead of coffee powder (with no water). I had to bake it an extra 10 minutes for it to set but it turned out perfect. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Regan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Brielle, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brbs
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Alright, so I made this the other day because I was really craving some pecan pie, and it was great. Now I'd never made a pecan pie before so this was a first. I didn't have any coffee powder so I omitted it and I added about half a cup of pecans. I also used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet, and it turned out wonderfully. It was very chocolatey and had a rich flavor that was great with some ice cream. Awesome chocolate pecan pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
How easy and yummy and its not even thanksgiving. Instead of corn syrup, which is pretty unheathly, I used some brown sugar and milk. It came out sooo~ good. Also I left out the coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This pie was a huge hit for Thanksgiving. I made another pie for a gift. This will definitely stay in my favorite recipe pile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I made this for Christmas dinner and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I've made many a pecan pie, and this was one of the best. The recipe is similar to all the others but something (maybe the coffee?) made it a cut above. Don't bother with the cream; that's really gilding the lily. Thanks Jeannette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
The only reason I am giving 3 stars is because this pie was tasty but that was about it. I had to bake my pie for 60 minutes and the center was still soft. My pie came out runny. Did not dare bake it any longer because my pie crust was very dark and I used a pie crust ring the entire baking time. Was not what I was looking for. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States