Chocolate Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
As far as the directions go, I'd give a technical score of 3 stars. There are a few things I would like to add to the directions: Melt the chocolate (at 50% power in the microwave) and add 1 1/2 Tbl. butter in pieces, stirring to blend. Pour the chocolate into the bottom of a 9" DEEP DISH pie crust, and refrigerate. (If you want a more subtle chocolate taste, I suggest cutting it to 1 cup choc + 1T butter for a thin layer in the pie - I'll do this next time). Then in a bowl, beat the sugar and butter first, then add the other things, pouring the corn syrup while you are mixing. Bake in a hot oven on a cookie sheet. I preferred having a soft layering of chocolate under the pecan layer which would be easy to slice hot or cool. Baking: after 50 minutes, the crust was very brown but the center was not set, so I had to cover it with foil. Then it cooked quickly. As far as taste: it was very rich, very sweet, and very good with vanilla ice cream! I can't complain about the richness or sweetness, because what pecan pie isn't? It got the taste test award after Thanksgiving dinner! Artistic score: 5 stars So overall? 4 stars, but now that I know what to do, this will become a traditional pie for holidays worth 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Gorgeous but I advise melting the chocolate and the butter before mixing. I added more pecan (twice the amount stated) and used ready rolled puff pastry. It came out absolutely gorgeous, gooey, sticky and heavenly! It was a real success. In all this is an extremely easy to do recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La maman calîne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Delicious! I used chocolate chunks because that's what I had on hand and thought it was perfect... very chocolatey! I didn't have the problem of too much filling... I used a Mrs. Smith's frozen deep dish pie shell and every bit of the filling fit in to it and none ran over even though I put it on a cookie sheet just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This is SOOOOO good. I kind of disobeyed the directions and I layered the chocolate and then pecans instead of stirring it all together. I put the chocolate on the crust and then put tons of pecans over it (I think pecan pies never have enough pecans) and then I poured the sugar-y mixture over the top - of course I had extra sugar mixture because I added too many pecans but it was well worth it. Thanks for the delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
I've never had much success with baking...but this recipe looked so easy...and it was! It turned out very well. A tad too sweet for my taste (I still enjoyed it), and my husband went nuts over it. He kept picking at it until I finally put it away! Next time, I may cut back on the chocolate chips and add a little unsweetened cocoa powder. Between the sugar and corn syrup it's sweet enough. And my advice to anyone trying this for the first time...make your own crust! I used a store-bought refigerated pastry crust and was very disappointed. It was hard and dry. This pie needs a nice, delicate flaky crust. But overall, it was still very good and I will make it again...with a home-made crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I really think the chocolate chips should have been melted with the corn syrup and then mixed in with the nuts, etc. The flavors would have blended much better if that had been instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I have had other people ask me for this recipie. EXCELLENT!!! I have tried some of the others that are a little more complex, but this one still tastes the best and is the easiest to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg R,

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Overall, it was a good recipe. But it made way too much filling. I used a frozen 9 inch pie crust and could have made two pies from one batch of filling. Also it was very chocolaty. If I make it again, I may experiment with different types of chocolate, like a bittersweet baking bar, to try and cut back on some of the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This pie was fantastic. I made it for Thankgiving and it was gone by the end of the day. I was very rich but tastefully so. I will be making this again very soon. The filling was a little to much for the pie pan and I ended up leaving a bit out. And I was fortunate for the cookie sheet underneath because it did run over. It took about 5-10 extra minutes to get the center to set and I ended up putting foil around the crust edges to prevent over browning/burning. Thanks for the easy delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
This pie was a hit at my first Thanksgiving! It's so easy to make and the finished product tastes like you slaved over a hot oven for hours! Would work well for any occasion. Bring it to work and your coworkers will think you're the best. Who are you to mention how easy it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States