Chocolate Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
My family and I enjoyed this rich pie in small pieces. I agree with others, though, that it had too many chocolate chips. Next time I will use only 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Great pie and easy to make! I will definitly make this again. Only thing I would do different next time is add 1c of chocolate chips rather than the 1.5c the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
If you love rich desserts and chocolate this pie is for you. I've used chocolate chunks as well as chips and both work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I used egg beaters for the eggs & I subbed white chocolate chips for the semi-sweet. Yummy! Because of reviews saying it was too sweet, I cut the sugar back to half a cup & decreased the chips to one cup. Used a homemade pie crust & garnished w/ a dollop of maple-flavored whipped cream & sprinkled that w/ some raw sugar. Fantastic pie...thanks Karin Christian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This pie was fantastic. I made it for Thankgiving and it was gone by the end of the day. I was very rich but tastefully so. I will be making this again very soon. The filling was a little to much for the pie pan and I ended up leaving a bit out. And I was fortunate for the cookie sheet underneath because it did run over. It took about 5-10 extra minutes to get the center to set and I ended up putting foil around the crust edges to prevent over browning/burning. Thanks for the easy delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I made this pie for my husband, who had never had pecan pie (from a different country), and he decided he didn't like pecan pie after that! This recipe was way too sweet. I made a regular pecan pie later, and my husband liked it. If I make this again, I will reduce the amount of sugar and/or corn syrup and use dark chocolate or baking chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Very good recipe! This made exactly enough filling for a deep dish pie. Pie was very gooey and had a rich chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Very delicious recipe - wouldn't change a thing. A big hit at Thansgiving. Will be making it at Christmas too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Gorgeous but I advise melting the chocolate and the butter before mixing. I added more pecan (twice the amount stated) and used ready rolled puff pastry. It came out absolutely gorgeous, gooey, sticky and heavenly! It was a real success. In all this is an extremely easy to do recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La maman calîne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This pie is wonderful! It was so easy to make and tasted like a little piece of chocolate heaven. (On a side note however, I always have a hard time telling when they are done, so I ended up baking mine for about an hour and had no problems.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States