Chocolate Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I used pre-made pie shells that were HEB's brand, and there was enough filling for two full pies! Maybe those shells were especially shallow, but I'm glad they come in packages of two. Not that I'm complaining - this college kid has plenty of hungry friends! I might melt the chocolate first next time - it's more of a chocolate chip pecan pie, right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I have made this several times and it is wonderful. I don't know why anyone would complain that this recipe is anything less than perfect as written. I followed the directions exactly and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookneal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Loved this. I don't bake a lot so like it to be easy and fool proof when I do. I did melt the chocolate chips with the butter and used a deep dish pie shell. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Travis & Amanda
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
First pecan pie I've made. Easy to make. I melted the chocolate in the microwave and stirred in. Based on reviews, I cut back the chocolate to 1C, and used a very bittersweet chocolate. As well, I added 1T of bourbon, which you could taste the first day, but not later. Delicious! My mother-in-law requested the recipe and father-in-law ate 1.5 pieces, and he's a diabetic! :) Worth it! (I baked some sweet potatoes in the oven at the same time, and it worked great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This pie quickly started browning heavily for an almost-burnt appearance. I lowered the heat a little and cooked the minimum amount of time to help but by the end, it looked like slightly-burnt meringue on top. The one change I made was using butter instead of margarine. It tasted decent but wasn't attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Delish...this was so easy and good that next time I will make 2 as there wasn't any left. I made it just the way the recipe stated and I didn't have any trouble with the chocolate chips, everything cooked perfectly. I put it in to cook while we were eating our Thanksgiving dinner, when we got through eating and cleaning up it was ready. I served it warm with vanilla ice cream and it was so good! Thank you for the recipe, this will be one of my go to pies for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Simple easy recipe that my family loved. I only used 1 cup of chocolate chips because I was afraid it would be too sweet. I also had a little extra left over after I filled the pie crust, but I just spooned out the choc chips and pecans and poured out the remaining juice. All in all, good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Great tasting pie but too sweet for our liking. Next time, will definitely reduce the chocolate quantity to half or even just a handful. I've seen other recipes where they just add a handful of chocolate chips on the bottom of the pie and then pour the mixture. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and this pie was excellent. After reading all the suggestions to melt the chocolate, I decided I didn't want to do that bc I wanted chunks of chocolate throughout, so I left the chips alone, like the recipe says. The only issue I faced was cooking time. The center was essentially still liquid after 50 min so I covered the pie in foil for another 15 min and it was done. I brought this to Thanksgiving and it was a HUGE hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I made this yesterday and followed the instructions almost exactly. I took heed to other reviewers and reduced the chocolate chips to 1 cup and the light corn syrup to 3/4 cup. But I mixed everything together just like it says to. Baked 50 minutes then let it cool. We ate it semi-warm and it was ok. The next day, after the pie has chilled in the fridge all night, it was delicious! Definitely make this a day ahead and chill it overnight before serving. The chocolate chips stay whole and do not melt but, since it's a crunchy pecan pie, you don't seem to notice. I also used 1 1/2 cups pecans... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States