Chocolate Pecan Delite Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2001
This is a great dessert dish, especially for pot-luck dinners. I tried a variation, however. I doubled the crust layer (my favorite part) and instead of mixing the cream cheese mixture and the pudding mixture, I layered the 2, starting with the cream cheese. Then top with the remaining whipped cream and some chopped pecans, and ooohhh yummy! Stand back and listen to the applause!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I make this all the time for luncheons or special dinners. I layer the pudding mixture and cream cheese mixture (don't mix it all together). It looks great when sliced. On the top I sprinkle the nuts, but I also shave a small chocolate bar. Really gooood!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made this for my dad's 60th birthday, per his request. He handed me the recipie that was one he had for years. I compared it to this one, and decided to make this one instead. The only difference was that his suggestsed you layer the cream cheese mixture and the pudding mixture rather than mix them together. Next time, I will try layering just for looks, but I don't think it will make a difference in the taste. Also, his recipie called for only 2 cups of milk, which I think I will try next time. 3 cups of milk seemed to make the pudding a little less "set". And lastly, his recipe called for grated Hershey bar on top, instead of pecans. So for next time: Iwould suggest that we try less milk, layer more and grate chocolate o the top. Yummy! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keuliss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
This dessert tasted like gourmet to me! I did follow other's suggestions and layered the cream cheese mixture separate, but will not do that again. I found that more time consuming, you could not see the separate layer and it'd taste the same mixed together anyway. I like to keep things easiest I guess. Overall, this is a great tasting dessert. I thought it'd just taste like chocolate pudding when I was making it, but the pecans and other things give it a surprisingly gourmet flavor. Would highly recommend this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
MMM... MMM...Good! This was very tasty! Very light dessert. I think I would add a little sugar to the crust the next time too. I layered the Cream cheese mixture and the pudding mixture like a couple people had suggested. I sprinkled the top of the whipped cream with Shaved chocolate, skor bits and pecan pieces. Fabulous!! Thanks Bonnie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Very sinful! I used sugar-free pudding and light cream cheese and it was still rich! Next time I'll mix the pudding more thoroughly, it was a little too lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I followed the recipe and it turned out a sloppy mess. It did not set up and looked bad. I was asked to bring dessert for Christmas and I left the leftovers behind. They froze it and said it was good but, I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
This is a great treat. Only thing I will change about the recipe is adding sugar to the crust. My sister-in-law made this several times for the family and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PECANTANSILK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
So good and simple to make, favorite for my entire family. Sometimes i don't use nuts and just as good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ada, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I made this for our anniversary party and it was literally gone in minutes! I was afraid it might taste boring - like merely pudding on top of a crust, but it was delicious! (I had to put some aside so hubby and I could have some!) Everyone loved it and I had to give the recipe to at least 3 people. I told hubby I might try it again with a graham cracker crust, but he told me not to change a thing. The only slight problem I had was I think I should've creamed the cream cheese mixture with a mixer before adding it to the pudding mixture. I simply mixed it with a spoon. It made it a little lumpy, so I had to put it through a sieve to get the little lumps out. Otherwise, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States