Chocolate Pecan Delite Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2001
This is a great dessert dish, especially for pot-luck dinners. I tried a variation, however. I doubled the crust layer (my favorite part) and instead of mixing the cream cheese mixture and the pudding mixture, I layered the 2, starting with the cream cheese. Then top with the remaining whipped cream and some chopped pecans, and ooohhh yummy! Stand back and listen to the applause!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I make this all the time for luncheons or special dinners. I layer the pudding mixture and cream cheese mixture (don't mix it all together). It looks great when sliced. On the top I sprinkle the nuts, but I also shave a small chocolate bar. Really gooood!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I followed the recipe and it turned out a sloppy mess. It did not set up and looked bad. I was asked to bring dessert for Christmas and I left the leftovers behind. They froze it and said it was good but, I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
this dessert was wonderful. It can get a little messy making it but it is worth the effort. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
This is a great treat. Only thing I will change about the recipe is adding sugar to the crust. My sister-in-law made this several times for the family and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PECANTANSILK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
MMM... MMM...Good! This was very tasty! Very light dessert. I think I would add a little sugar to the crust the next time too. I layered the Cream cheese mixture and the pudding mixture like a couple people had suggested. I sprinkled the top of the whipped cream with Shaved chocolate, skor bits and pecan pieces. Fabulous!! Thanks Bonnie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
This dessert tasted like gourmet to me! I did follow other's suggestions and layered the cream cheese mixture separate, but will not do that again. I found that more time consuming, you could not see the separate layer and it'd taste the same mixed together anyway. I like to keep things easiest I guess. Overall, this is a great tasting dessert. I thought it'd just taste like chocolate pudding when I was making it, but the pecans and other things give it a surprisingly gourmet flavor. Would highly recommend this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This is fabulous and SO rich! Sometimes, I use ground walnuts in the crust and top it with either shaved bits of chocolate or chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was not what i expected. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This was sinful. The crust is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States