Chocolate Pear Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Delicious! Made exactly as suggested. I was surprised that even my 5 year old liked it. I thought the spices would scare her off. I think I went over 1TB on orange peel but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nanciemartin
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This recipe sounded so simple so I had my doubts..... I took it to a birthday gathering and it was a huge hit, everyone asked for the recipe. I did not change a thing .... it turned out beautifule with the arrangement of pears on top ... looked like it came from a bakery. Thank you for this simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I made this recipe as it is and it turned out amazing.Thanks for a great recipe Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estherville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
So Moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TLC
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
More of a spice cake, than a pear flavor. This is by no means is a bad tasting cake and it is soft and moist, but I was hoping for more pear flavor and should have known better since the pears are just on top. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was a big hit at my Christmas party. The arrangement of the sliced pears on top looked so beautiful too! I don't know if it really needed the chocolate, but everything else was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This cake is great for the holidays. The spices, orange, pear, and chocolate are a great combination and the cake itself is moist and not too heavy. This is one of the best cake recipes I have gotten off of this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC1126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was very yummy! I used sugar instead of molasses but everything else I left the same. This was so quick and easy. I chopped the chocolate really small and could hardly taste it. I will make it bigger chunks next time. I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This is the first time I have ever rated a recipe. This cake is just fantastic. I made it exactly as the recipe indicated except I used milk chocolate chips on the top instead of shaved chocolate. The cake was light yet moist and just delicious. I have a feeling it will be even better tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States