Chocolate Peanut Butter Wacky Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
My family and I really liked this cake. I didn't make the frosting. The cake was moist and not overly sweet. The texture had a fudgey feel. I can't wait to make this with a cream cheese frosting. Or maybe caramel and pecan topping. The possibilities are endless. With the cake not being too sugary it allows to play with different toppings that may be heavy on sweetness. The prep time was quick and it's kid friendly too. I think a little cinnamon in the batter would give it a little zing! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
WOW ! This cake was fantastic ! I've never hade a home made cake turn out so moist . Almost fudgy ! I will definately make it again but will pass on the frosting . It was just too gooy and did't look that good .It really doesn't need anything at all. I added peanut butter chips and it was even better.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Disappointed. After all the great reviews, I can't say this was a hit. Peanut Butter topping was nothing special. The cake itself was very good and quite moist. By the way 10 tablespoons of butter is a smidge under 2/3 of a cup. UPDATE: I just frosted the cake with Butter Cream! MUCH BETTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Very good once I followed the recipe in full. I tried to get off easy by not broiling but the icing was much too grainy that way. I also stirred chocolate and peanut butter chips into the cake batter and sprinkled some on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DAVIS_GIRL_99
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
I have made this cake many, many times and every time it turns out even more yummier than the last time!! All my kids ask for this cake on their birthdays...it's always gone in one day (we have 5 kids!) Try it you'll love it!! Use whatever frosting you like. I always make my own. Sometimes vanilla, sometimes peanut butter, sometimes creme cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIS_GIRL_99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
I just made a Devil's Food cake from a mix, and then spread on the peanut butter icing, and sprinkled with mini-chocolate chips. Sooo yummy! My family of 8 gobbled it up in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Practically Organic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
just used the frosting recipe and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2001
I added some bits of reese's p-nut butter cups into the batter. Yumm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
I had a small gathering which the neighbor kids helped me prepare for. The 12 year-old girl made the cake and it was delicious. We decided to get REALLY wacky and added chocolate and peanut butter morsels to the cake and the peanut butter topping. We also threw in some marshmallows and toffe bits. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMAG1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
I made this cake for my fifteenth birthday this year, and my entire family seemed to enjoy it. In fact, my aunt recently rated this recipe. I would definitely suggest this cake and icing recipe for anyone's birthday. Especially a child's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States