Chocolate Peanut Butter Wacky Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Delicious! My husbands new favorite! The frosting burned after 3 minutes; had to scrape it off and only broiled for 2 minutes the second time- was perfect. Very moist cake, even after a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Actually the cake is about 4&1/2 stars, very good. The topping, about three. If you really like peanut butter, it is good. I made this for my daughters birthday, and it was different, not a hit, but well recieved! As a note, do the broiling, it makes a huge difference, makes the topping crispy and gooey. Similiar to a toasted marshmallow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This chocolate cake is awesome. I really wanted to give it 5 stars but we did not like the topping! But lets get back to the cake. What an easy recipe that doesn't even take many ingredients and it makes a 9x13! And you don't have to worry about 'sampling' the batter. My husband stubbled across this recipe for my birthday cake. He made it first and it turned out great (exept for the topping). This cake is now one of my favorites!!! Just use regular icing or none at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I want to give this a lower rating, but people at work claimed to have liked it so I guess I can give a little credit. I followed this recipe word for word, whereas I typically make my own changes. I was terribly disappointed when the cake began to darken around the edges and the middle was still raw. The frosting was a mess, too- I didn't have much trouble with managing it under the broiler, but I was not impressed with how runny and grainy it was. It ran everywhere and just didn't seem at all frosting-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
The flavor was pretty good and very different. I added a little more peanut butter since I'm a peanut butter freak. The cake was so incredibly dry that I almost choked trying to swallow! I will try this one again but a little differently, so as to not have the cake so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna Lyn Alicea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Very Moist and chocolatey! It was like eating a cake/brownie with yummy peanut butter icing. I followed someones advice and I only broiled it for 3minutes,--4minutes may have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
This is a very easy cake to make, and the results are excellent. The cake is moist and dense, and the icing is a perfect complement to the cake. I had a little trouble with the icing since I wasn't sure how close to put the pan to the broiler. Finally I just kept moving it around until the icing got browned. You have to be careful not to burn it by leaving it in one place. Browning the icing gives it a nice caramelized taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
In my opinion the only good thing about this was that the cake was moist. The icing was not very good either. I'm not sure why everyone gave this recipe such a great review, maybe my tastebuds are REALLY different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oromocto, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
interesting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
I made this cake for my husband's birthday and everyone loved it! Be careful about the frosting though, we burned it the first time in the broiler, and had to scrape it off. The second time it was done perfectly in about 3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States