Chocolate Peanut Butter Wacky Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by thisbewhitneyman
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This cake tastes amazing! So moist and fudgey! I didn't make any differences to the recipe, with the exception of leaving out the frosting. I just frosted the cake with chocolate frosting and put twix bits on top. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Not sure what I did wrong but I did not care for this cake. It was flat and no taste at all. I followed the directions exactly and I bake all the time and cannot get this to turnout right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Starcher

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
pretty good. The cake was awesome. The frosting was good. I used crunchy peanut butter, and i didn't care for the nuts. Both my kids requested this cake for their birthdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Thank you! This is exactly what I was looking for. The Amish make a cake very similar to this and its impossible to find a peanut butter ICING. All you can find is frosting, which I didn't want. A few things I would do differently next time. I would cook the icing in a saucepan instead of putting it under the broiler, and then pour it on the cake. The recipe doesn't say the broiler level (hi/lo) nor does it say for how long. So I put it on lo and checked it every minute. Well, it burned a little on top. I had to scrape the burnt part off. I also think I'll add more peanut butter to the recipe because the brown sugar overpowered the taste a little. Plus I think it needed more icing overall. But this will be my go-to recipe for this cake. I had been searching for it forever and my husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This cake is very sweet and moist......it is absolutely awsome!! Eat in small portions though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I made this for work birthday party and everyone loved it. Next time I make it, I will double the recipe for the icing, add half while the cake is warm and punch holes in the cake. Then when it cools I will cover it with the second batch and broil it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
My father loved this cake, it has been a family favorite for years, the cake recipe was created during WWII when eggs were in short supply.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie12

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
so yummy! So moist! I use the fluffy peanut butter frosting from this site, I also substitue a couple Tbsp of peanut butter for the butter. Yummm!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I made this for hubby's b-day and everybody loved it. It was really good the day I made it, but even better the next day. Next time I'll make a day in advance. I didn't have any brown sugar, so I used "fluffy peanut butter frosting" from this site and that went really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I thought cake was really good and moist. Easy. Kids liked the frosting, I didn't care for it that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States