Chocolate Peanut Butter Wacky Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This cake was dry (even though I undercooked) and it was not sweet at all! It almost tasted bitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummyintummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
How could this get a bad review?!? Absolutely amazing recipe. The chocolate cake was just as moist as everyone raved about. I added reese's peanut butter chips and chocolate chips to the batter. I also added rees's peanut butter cups chopped on top. Might have been a little over kill but everyone who tried it said it was the best cake they had ever had. I will use the chocolate cake recipe with different frosting just for fun next time. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I'm only rating the frosting here ( I used another wacky chocolate cake recipe). As written, I found the frosting recipe yields a grainy texture, not to mention the peanut butter taste was a bit intense. It just wasn't creamy enough for me and I didn't want to put the entire cake back in the oven to broil so instead I followed the recipe up until the last step then added 1/2 package cream cheese. Creamed this together, then frosted the cake (obviously omitting the broiler). It was delicious this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I have to say I am reviewing it without trying the frosting. Made a half batch if the cake in an 8 x 8 pan and baked for 25 minutes. It was really good and moist, like the Wacky cakes I've tried in the past. I love frosting but I really don't think this cake needs it. Mine was a little taller than I would prefer. Also gotta add - this is cheap to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
My icing was very runny and didn't stay put very well. *However*, this cake is absolutely delicious and I'll definitely be making it all the time without the icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki G.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I did not make this Exact recipe but I have a recipe almost identical which I have used frequently for the past decade or so [I am only 22 also] The best chocolate cake, I always make it for friend's birthdays. The delightful thing about it is it can easily be made vegan! [shhh :D] - just use coconut oil or something instead of butter. Have not tried the peanut butter frosting though - Sounds delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mela.elle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made this (double recipe) for my daughter's 3rd birthday. It was a huge hit! Very moist!! If you follow the recipe and directions exactly; there is no way that this would not be a great cake! I used large cake pans so the baking time needed a bit of adjusting; but the cake was fantastic! I used a peanut butter frosting (not this frosting as the reviews were mixed) but the recipe is off this site and it was a huge hit! Will be making again I'm sure with 2 little girls in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Standish, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Tasty, not very nice looking though. Wouldn't want to serve it to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Ive made this cake several times and always have received really good comments on it! Kids LOVE it and the icing is really good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kwhyte00

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Normally I am not a big fan of eating cake, but this one was amazing. It was very moist and the icing on top was a perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States