Chocolate Peanut Butter Wacky Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This cake was dry (even though I undercooked) and it was not sweet at all! It almost tasted bitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummyintummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
How could this get a bad review?!? Absolutely amazing recipe. The chocolate cake was just as moist as everyone raved about. I added reese's peanut butter chips and chocolate chips to the batter. I also added rees's peanut butter cups chopped on top. Might have been a little over kill but everyone who tried it said it was the best cake they had ever had. I will use the chocolate cake recipe with different frosting just for fun next time. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I'm only rating the frosting here ( I used another wacky chocolate cake recipe). As written, I found the frosting recipe yields a grainy texture, not to mention the peanut butter taste was a bit intense. It just wasn't creamy enough for me and I didn't want to put the entire cake back in the oven to broil so instead I followed the recipe up until the last step then added 1/2 package cream cheese. Creamed this together, then frosted the cake (obviously omitting the broiler). It was delicious this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I have to say I am reviewing it without trying the frosting. Made a half batch if the cake in an 8 x 8 pan and baked for 25 minutes. It was really good and moist, like the Wacky cakes I've tried in the past. I love frosting but I really don't think this cake needs it. Mine was a little taller than I would prefer. Also gotta add - this is cheap to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
My icing was very runny and didn't stay put very well. *However*, this cake is absolutely delicious and I'll definitely be making it all the time without the icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki G.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I did not make this Exact recipe but I have a recipe almost identical which I have used frequently for the past decade or so [I am only 22 also] The best chocolate cake, I always make it for friend's birthdays. The delightful thing about it is it can easily be made vegan! [shhh :D] - just use coconut oil or something instead of butter. Have not tried the peanut butter frosting though - Sounds delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mela.elle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made this (double recipe) for my daughter's 3rd birthday. It was a huge hit! Very moist!! If you follow the recipe and directions exactly; there is no way that this would not be a great cake! I used large cake pans so the baking time needed a bit of adjusting; but the cake was fantastic! I used a peanut butter frosting (not this frosting as the reviews were mixed) but the recipe is off this site and it was a huge hit! Will be making again I'm sure with 2 little girls in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Standish, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Tasty, not very nice looking though. Wouldn't want to serve it to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Ive made this cake several times and always have received really good comments on it! Kids LOVE it and the icing is really good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kwhyte00

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Normally I am not a big fan of eating cake, but this one was amazing. It was very moist and the icing on top was a perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States