Chocolate Peanut Butter Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
If ever a recipe deserved five stars this one is it. A few thoughts, I followed the recipe exactly because I was in a hurry and didn't have time to read the reviews. Wish I had taken the time. Other reviewers are right in you really need more chocolate for the top. Also, maybe because we lived in such a humid area, but I had trouble getting the peanut butter layer spread. I ended up finding a plastic spatula sprayed with Pam worked the best. Next time I will add the additional crumbs to stiffen up the mixture. Also, hands do not work well, even when buttered because they heat up the peanut butter and cause it to release more oil. These are super rich and I cut them into small pieces. I figure I got twice the number the recipe stated. These were super easy, fast, and I will sure keep them in mind for future use. Last though, mine never really set up, so I ended up having to store them in the fridge. Not a huge deal, but a thought if you are planning to take them somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Very Good! I did follow some other posters and added more graham crumbs (1 3/4c) and cut back on the butter (2tbs) for the topping. Also used used 1 1/2c milk chocolate chips. My husband says they are better than reese's! Thank you! Wanted to edit my review to add that I froze 1/2 of these and you could not tell the difference between the fresh and frozen! I cut them into 1 1/2 in squares wrapped individually in plastic wrap. And placed them a freezer bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iola, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I have made these peanut butter bars a few times now and they are always a big hit at work. After melting the butter, I add the peanut butter to create a creamy mixture. I combine my graham cracker crumbs and confectioners' sugar together in a separate bowl and then add these dry ingredients to the peanut butter/butter mixture. The ingredients come together much better this way! I agree with using 2 cups of chocolate chips and 1-2 tablespoons of butter for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
This recipe is good - like a square version of buckeye candy - but it needs a lot of alterations! First, make sure your graham crumbs are extra fine (don't crush by hand - use the processor) Second, soften the peanut butter in the microwave before adding and the mixture will spread easier. Third, pour into a cookie sheet or 9x13 pan instead of a jelly roll pan (too thin!). Fourth, double the chocolate in the topping and only add 2 tbls butter (otherwise it's "greasy").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolate Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This was easy and excellent. I did what some suggested and added about 1/4 cup more of graham cracker crumbs. Also I added the whole 12 ounce bag of chocolate chips to the melted butter. It coated it perfectly. (Just a side note about the peanut butter, 2 cups is a whole jar of peanut butter plus a heaping tablespoon or two. Very good recipe Lisa. I will be making this again. (I went to work tonight and came home to over half the pan empty...the whole family loved it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMMOM3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
Incredible for a low-cal dessert! (Just kidding). These bars are great! I used an 11"x17" jellyroll pan. For the topping I used 2 cups of milk chocolate chips and it covered well. Also, no need for 1/2 cup butter in the topping ... just a tablespoon or two will do (even with the increase in choc. chips to two cups). Very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I've been making these for the past year and can't believe I never took the time to give my review of them to say how fantastic they are! The only change I made was to add more chocolate; to the 1/2 c. of butter I add 1 c. milk choolate chips and 1 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips. That seems to balnce it out perfectly. I have to say, this is probably the BEST recipe I have ever gotten off of this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
THESE WERE A BIG HIT BOTH AT HOME AND THE OFFICE. I THINK NEXT TIME I'LL PUT CHOCOLATE ON THE BOTTOM AS WELL AND USE LESS FILLING AND FILL MUFFIN CUPS TO MAKE THEM LIKE THE REAL THING. BEST PART IS THEY'RE SO EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
I used 2 cups semi sweet chips and melted with no butter, spread over top and everyone when crazy over them... they are absolutely excellent... i cut them into squares and wrapped them in red foil and put them in baskets with my other homemade candys and these were the biggest hit.. especially with the guys.. everyone loved them.. they are much better than store bought cups! thanks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Yummy! I made some alterations to this recipe, thanks to the helpful reviewers here. Used 1 and 3/4 cups of graham cracker crumbs, used 1 tbsp of butter for the chocolate topping and 2 cups of milk chocolate chips. I also used natural peanut butter, but that's just my personal preference. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coctilis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States