Chocolate Peanut Butter Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Deeeee-lish! I agree with the other reviewers on cutting down the butter for the chocolate topping and using a deeper pan. I actually used my hands to press the peanut butter part down and that method worked best for me. We loved these and the recipe makes a lot, so we shared with EVERYBODY. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Really delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Wonderful. Used less powdered sugar and only 2 TBS butter for topping. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Really rich but really good! These do taste just like a big peanut butter cup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AwhhScoob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Vermont, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
My grandmother made these when I was a kid. I have been looking for the recipe for a while and finally found it on here. I made these for my Husband to take to a pot luck at work. They were wonderful. I did use more chips for frosting and used as other reviews suggested about 1/2 cup more graham cracker crumbs. Awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I made this recipe for the first time last night. I am not much for measuring things (makes more dishes to clean). I used about a cup (more or less) of Smart Balance. 1 two pound bag of confectioners sugar would be 4 cups (turned out to be too much) so, I only used half of the bag and one package of graham crackers which I crushed with the flat side of my meat tenderizer while placed inside a ziplock bag. The peanut butter mixture was perfectly sweetened with 1/2 bag of powdered sugar (and I love sugar!) and with the graham crumbs, holds together perfectly. I would as one reviewer said use the food processor or in my case my Ninja the next time to get the crumbs ground a little finer. Texture didn't make a difference as these taste amazing! I used a whole pkg. of semi-sweet morsles and 1/2 C. Butter. I made everything on the stove top since I am a naturalist and have read some scary things on how the microwave actually heats food. I chilled this in the freezer for 25 min. and my fiance and I pigged out. The next morning after sitting out on the counter overnight covered in plastic wrap the chocolate and peanut butter are still holding together perfectly and taste great at room temperature. This is definitly a five star, go to recipe for peanut butter squares!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I AGREE WITH USING LESS BUTTER IN THE TOPPING ITS TO GREASY.. I CHANGED IT BY LAYING WHOLE GRAHAM CRACKERS ON THE BOTTOM OF THE PAN BECAUSE THEY ARE EASIER FOR LITTLE FINGERS TO HOLD & IT MAKES LESS OF A MESS & ADDS XTRA CRUNCH!! I ALSO USED CRUNCHY PB INSTEAD OF REG.. IT WAS AWESOME!!!!!!!! I HAVE MADE THESE TWICE IN THE LAST TWO WEEKS BECAUSE EVERYONE THAT TASTES THEM REQUESTS MORE :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Too sweet for me but tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
These taste five-star; however, they were not so easy to make per instructions. I did read various reviews, but decided to follow recipe exactly first time. Only change was not to do as much butter with the chocolate chips; I actually didn't have enough chocolate topping so I quickly threw a bit more chips in the microwave and melted w/o butter - was actually easier to spread than the first batch that contained butter. However, mixing the other stuff together in the melted butter was difficult - oh and actually I did warm the peanut butter up a bit since I could see it was going to be difficult. So I think next time I will put dry ingredients together and melt PB and butter together then combine, as another reviewer mentioned. I also think as is, it needs more of a chocolate top and less of the graham/PB bottom. So will tweak to find my balance, but I will definitely make again....and again....and again! I thank you for the recipe but then I don't...sometimes feeding your addiction isn't always a good think! No really, thank you though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I just made these and they're not that great. Definitely not worth the calories. I scaled down the recipe to make 12 servings and prepared it in a 9x9 pyrex dish and i still cut 16 huge squares out of it. Too sweet and too heavy. Half of one square gave me an instant stomach ache. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States