Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I agree that this recipe is too hard to use when trying to spread in two crusts. the mix is very dough like-delicious-but dough like. I only used one crust and it was still fairly thin, so I think two crusts wouldnt work well. Very delicious though. the pudding is a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel k.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This was a great pie. I followed the guidance of reducing the sugar to 2c and the milk to 1.5. I think next time I'll make the same amt of filling, but put it in one deep dish pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lroy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This was horrible! i did everything the recipe said to do, but the pudding part was a bad idea. one packet of pudding and 1 1/2 cups of milk (2 cups seemed like way to much). the pie sat in the frige all night and this morning the pudding was still runny. nothing at all like pudding. if i ever do this again i'll have to leave the pudding out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I first made this from the original recipe with no changes, and it was good, but the peanut butter layer was way too thick and way too sweet. It actually crumbled because it was so dry from all the powdered sugar. So when I made it again, I only put 2 cups of powdered sugar, doubled the chocolate pudding, and then I put a little of the peanut butter mixture into the chocolate pudding mixture. MMMMM! I also put less milk, using the "pie" instructions from the side of the pudding box. I entered it in a pie contest, and even though I didn't get 1st place, I had a few people tell me they would have given it first place because it was so delicious! Funny, when I came online today to print out the recipe, I noticed that the others who altered this pie made the same changes that I did. Guess it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Ward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Yummy. I halved the powdered sugar and still felt the peanut butter layer was too sweet. Maybe some flour with the sugar to make the peanut butter dough next time? Definitely double the chocolate pudding. This looks like you spent a lot of time on it- but it is SUPER EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I made this pie when my boyfriends parents came over for dinner, and everyone loved it! I only changed two things. I used the chocolate graham cracker crust instead of the regular kind. Also I used a larger package of pudding and prepared it using the pie filling directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This pie was ok, but the different textures just didn't seem to work well with each other. I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAmom37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This was very good, my husband raved over it and said it was "spectacular" and "better than restaurant pie". I am giving it 4 stars because I also reduced the amount of sugar to 2 cups and the milk to 1.5 to help it setup. I also used fresh whipped cream. For the second pie, I used mini graham cracker pies that were very cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samantha~
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
FABULOUS RECIPE. I made the same changes that others did and this pie came out perfect! It definitely is a very heavy dessert, but so worth the calories! If you're looking for a "feel good" dessert or a sweet treat for a girl's night in this is definitely it. I'll be making this again and again for family and personal get togethor! :)Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Thanks for the recipe, my family loved this desert. My son even had a friend stay the night and now he wants me to give his mom the recipe. i gave this 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Pie

Check out this no-bake, icebox pie!

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States