Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was ok, but I have had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Easy and delicious! I halved the recipe to make one pie except used the full amount of pudding mixed with 1 1/2 cups of milk - and I still thought the pudding layer was just a tad skimpy. I also took the advice of many other reviewers and used 1 cup confectioner's sugar to 1/2 cup peanut butter and about 6 tbsp. of butter. The peanut butter layer was a snap to spread on the bottom and even after chill time it still had a good texture - a little firm but not crumbly - kind of like a soft peanut butter fudge but not as sweet. (But it's STILL very rich and sweet!) Wonderful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very Yummy and Very simply to make :D I actually didnt use a crust at all So it was more of a Chocolate peanut butter Pudding. Im just not big into pie crusts So leaving that out was perfect for us. I also used a Chocolate fudge pudding mix instead of reg. chocolate So it had a nice super chocolate flavor. I will make this again Its very tasty :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mel
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This pie is a family favorite and is requested at many gatherings. My family LOVES chocolate and peanut butter, but they also love oreos. So, I found a way to combine them all with this recipe! I use two Oreo pie crusts instead of the graham gracker crusts and top the pie with mini oreos surrounding the edge and crushed oreos sprinkled over the middle. It looks and tastes fantastic!! I also make the changes suggested by others by reducing the confectioner's sugar from 3 cups to 2 cups, the milk from 2 cups to 1 1/2 cups and doubling the pudding mixture (with 1 1/2 cups milk per 3.9 oz. pudding package). I'm not sure if it makes a big difference, but I use chocolate fudge pudding instead of regular chocolate. My family cannot get enough of this pie and talk about it year round! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I only gave this a 2 since I wouldn't make it again. It has definite possibiities but needs too much work for my personal taste. It's easier to begin with something I like better to start with. To make the peanut butter layer better, I added some whipped topping but it ate the peanut butter flavor completely up. Also, there should be twice as much pudding and half as much peanut butter in the layer proportions. I love sweet desserts, but even 2 cups of conf. sugar was a little too much. Maybe 1 3/4 would be the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This was so good--everyone loved it and it received rave reviews! It was so easy to make that I felt guioty about saying I actually made it! I used less confectionaers sugar, and topped it off with a spread of cool whip and salty peanuts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Super good! I too only used 1 1/2 c of milk and only 1 3/4 c of powdered suger. Came out PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Family LOVED it. I only made 1 pie..took the advise of others and cut back on the conf.sugar. Will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I agree with the other reviewers. Less powdered sugar or the pb layer is too dense. More pudding and slightly thicken the recipe. The flavor is spot on though. The pb layer tastes like Reese's Cups peanut butter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryland mom
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very very good. But also very rich. So if you can't handle it, just have a small piece. Personally, I love chocolate and I love peanut butter, so it wasn't too rich for me. Same goes for my husband, who I believe ate a half a pie in one sitting. Very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Pie

Check out this no-bake, icebox pie!

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States