Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
The pie was good, especially the peanut butter. I had read the other reviews before making it and very glad I did. The chocolate does not have to be lumpy as mine was not. I mixed the sugar, cornstarch and cocoa together and then added the milk. I then heated and brought to a boil, pour 1/2 in the egg yolks, and then back into the kettle and back to a boil. This will eliminate the lumps. This is how I make all my puddings, it turns out perfectly and I got rave reviews from all those eating the pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lowpaidnurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Max, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
The chocolate custard filling was very chunky, even after I cut the amount of cornstarch as some of the other reviews recommended. While the pie tasted very good, the textures were just too off to make this pie a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
The egg yolks are not enough liquid to add the sugar and corn starch to. It just made chunks that would not dissolve. I had to strain out the lumps and still the pudding was not very creamy. Taste good but looked very lumpy. Would not take the pie to the dinner I made it for because it just did not turn out like I thought is should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Except for the lumpy chocolate it was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I love love loved this recipe! My chocolate was pretty lumpy but who cares... I will make this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
I didn't have any graham crackers to make a crust for this pie, but I still really wanted a chocolate/PB dessert so I turned this recipe into custard cups. I made the custard just as the recipe directed (minus 1/4 c of sugar though), strained it through a sieve to get out any lumps, and set it in the fridge with plastic pressed to the top of it while I made the PB crumbles. I then layered the PB and chocolate a few times in custard cups, topping them with some of the crumbs and served them warm. DELICIOUS. They were SO rich and sweet and just perfect. Thanks a ton, this was just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
This recipe was easy to follow and turned out terrific on the first try! My coworkers and family absolutely loved the suprise peanut butter confection on the bottom! The chocolate required a little extra whisking, but turned out wonderful in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I tried to make this pie on 2 different occassions... both times resulting in horrible failure. I double checked the ingredients and amounts as well as time but somewhere something went terribly wrong. Would not attempt again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Overall, a good recipe. The corn starch made the chocolate filling quite lumpy, but the chocolate itself tasted magnificent. The peanut butter crumbles didn't melt, to my joy, and were a very novel (and delicious) idea. I used a pre-made graham cracker crust, and it tasted just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States