Chocolate-Peanut Butter Mallow Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
These are ok, but I'm not sure I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I really enjoyed these, at least the way I made them. I used strong coffee instead of milk because chocolate always tastes better when you add coffee. Skipped the peanut butter layer since I was out. Instead I dropped spoonfuls of marshmallow fluff, lightly sprinkled it with chopped walnuts, dropped pieces of the remaining brownie batter on top, then sprinkled just a few semisweet and white chocolate chips before baking the 2nd time. Pretty darned good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I didn't care for the bars very much. They're dense, very rich and taste more like an overcooked brownie than cake. A lot of people mentioned it being a messy and/or time-consuming preparation. I didn't have a problem with either so HERE ARE SOME TIPS!: add an extra 2-3 tablespoons of milk to the cake and butter mixture. Put peanut butter in bowl and microwave approximately 45 seconds or until liquefied. Make sure no hard lumps begin to form as it has overheated. Add milk and mix with rubber scraper until blended. Spoon (use 2) marshmallow creme directly from the jar onto the peanut butter mixture. I inadvertently left off the peanuts and chopped chocolate and I'm glad I did. I can't imagine another ingredient being added to the mix! If I make these again I will leave out the peanut butter. I'm a fan, but I found the flavor to be overpowering and out of place. I chose to use a smaller pan for the sake of wanting added thickness. I think these bars would definitely taste better thinner so I'd stick to the 9x13!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
My kids and I thought this was only so/so. Followed the recipe exactly, except I used semi sweet chocolate chips instead of the squares. Maybe it was something we did? Thanks but no thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
These were good, but soooo sweet. Not sure what I was expecting, but after one teeny bite, I was done...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I am not as good a cook as my sisters-in-law but I made these at a recent family vacation and they were gobbled up before anything else!!!! These are easy and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Wren McGrael

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Oh Yummy!! I can't wait to make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naren-lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Made these for a bake sale, one with the peanut butter & one without. simple recipe, they looked yummy and sold well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
these rich brownie bars are addicting and very messy like others have mentioned. i followed the recipe pretty close but did change a few things. I decided i wanted a thicker brownie so i baked them in a smaller pan than suggested. i also noticed that if you cool the brownies 5 minutes instead of 3 the peanut butter is much easier to spread. i let the brownies cool completely before cutting but still found them too gooey to cut so i put them in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes and they were perfect! i will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
We love peanut butter/chocolate 'anything' but think that this one would be better without the peanut butter layer, and maybe with just a handful of peanut butter chips scattered on top (we used both). The peanut butter layer just tastes out of place to us in this one and I'm not sure why. This is very, very rich so a very small piece will go a long way. I cut the servings for the kids extra small and they still left a little on their plates. I will definately try this again because the devil's food chocolate/marshmallow fluff was delicious, but with a couple of tweaks next time. We did enjoy trying a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States