Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
A little grainy but not to bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I tried this recipe, and it didn't turn out like I thought it should. It almost seemed like if I'd pt oatmeal in it, that it would've made No Bake cookies. It was too grainy and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Used the confectioner's sugar! Wonderfully great!!!! Would use again but w/this change. Husband said best he's ever had (minus fudge shops in St. Augustine)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I made this fudge for a holiday gift for those with whom I work. One of my colleges emailed me to say it was just like her grandmothers recipe. Everyone said it was awesome! I used fat free evaporated milk, reduced fat peanut-butter, and 50/50 margarine and butter to make it a bit less guilty. I didn't stir at all once it hit the heat, thanks to those who said not to stir or the sugar will be grainy. Maybe the word stir should be removed from the recipe? If one little word is the only critique, that's awesome! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
All I can say is YUMMY! Everyone loved the fudge and I had to make a third batch to please everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
You probably won't get it right the first time but once you get the hang of it it will come out great everytime. I have also used this as a topping for brownies and topped with walnuts.....yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I only stirred the darn stuff 3 times and it was still a teeny tiny grainy. Maybe my boiling wasn't "rolling" enough... I didn't want to overcook it. This was my first time making fudge alone, and I do not have a CT. My mom said the top would look "quilted" and when I had it on a rolling boil it did. ONE TIP: use a big pan because this recipe really PUFFS up big when you first heat it. I also went a little crazy with the peanut butter and added like 1 1/4 cups. As far as I can tell it only added to the creaminess. It's cooling right now... hope i didn't overcook it!!! Fudgemaking is a fine art we all should learn to do. Maybe Santa will bring me a CT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This recipe is missing a tsp. of vanilla extract at the end of the cooking process. This is the very same recipe that I lost that was my grandmothers. I agree with the othe lady,my grandmother always told me to leave it be as it cooked to. ** Follow the recipe. Add the sugar, cocoa and milk.. Bring it to a slight boil.. Until the endges are boiling.. Turn the heat down and let it cook stirring OCASSIONALY... UNtil a soft ball forms in a seperate cup of cold water. Take it off of the fire and add 1 tsp of vanilla extract, the butter and peanut butter. (my family loves p3eanut butter so I added a cup to this recipe) stir vigorously until smooth. Then put the WHOLE PAN in a slightly larger pan of COLD WATER.. ( that grainey stuff.. this will stop the crystals from getting bigger) Stir until smooth. This is all a very quick process. Then butter your pan, pour in the fudge and place it in the fridge until it's hardened. You guys will love this recipe once you get the hang of leaving it alone to cook. I just got finished making this recipe. It took 20 minutes total and so far it is firming perfectly. I hope this helps you all. If you have a question. Email me at Zammada@Aol.com... Thanks, Crystal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I am guessing that the person who's fudge turned out grainy missed the soft ball stage or stirred too vigoursly after it did - which can cause graininess. Fudge is tricky! I always use a candy thermometer - it takes away a lot of the guesswork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Thank you for putting this recipe up!!! It is just like my mom's recipe and I lost her's and she passed 2 years ago. 2 batches turned out perfectly and the last was almost perfect!! I think I learned how to get the soft ball stage test right. I made sure the water I used was out of the fridge cold and I when I dropped the fudge in the cold water and mushed it around it formed a ball!! First time ever!! I have been trying to do this recipe for years and gave up! Thanks to you I got another chance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ada, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States