Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
There are a lot of great things about this recipe. It's very easy -- if you use a candy thermometer and cook it to 235 degrees. It's also inexpensive (compare this to other fudge recipes that call for chocolate chips and marshmallows). The chocolate peanut butter flavor is a sure crowd-pleaser. If the "rolling boil" part confuses you, you can just ignore it and cook on medium until you reach 235 degrees. On the minus side, it's not quite as peanut buttery, creamy, or smooth as fudge can possibly be. But it's a solid basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Ok...maybe it was me...I never made homemade fudge before, but I consider myself a very experienced baker, and rarely have I ever had anything I've ever made come out this bad. I read all the reviews and made sure to follow the recipe to the letter. What I got, was a very dry and dull looking fudge. It tasted ok if you could get past how it looked and the intial dryness...but I guess I won't be making fudge again for a while. This really discouraged me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I used confectioners sugar as suggested by some others but the fudge was still a little grainy, and it was still kind of soft. I will try this one again, but will buy a candy thermometer first. Also, I'll line the pan because although I buttered it well I still had to scoop it out with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Good recipe....but I emprovised. The first time, I must have cooked it too long until it got to "hard-ball stage" because like the one of the reviews said, it just broke apart. The second time, I used a glass of ice water and tested the mixture every minute. It seemed to take about 12 to 13 minutes after the rolling boil to get to the "soft-ball stage". I did emprovise with regular milk instead of evaporated milk and added my own vanilla to the mixture (I love vanilla). I also used a baking squared instead of coco powder but I shredded it which took a little longer and added more than the recipe called for. I never follow directions completely I usually just use them as a guide...but it seemed to turn out well anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Easy to make, and tastes delicious! I researched the 'soft-ball stage' and found that it is when the mixture reaches between 235 and 240 degrees F. I bought a candy thermometer and my fudge turned out terrific!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitlynsmom03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I tried this recipe twice, and I've perfected it now. The trick is to use confectioner's sugar, not white sugar like the recipe specifies. I tried once with white sugar and 2 times with confectioner's sugar. Confectioner's sugar is in 99% of fudge recipes - there were a lot of people on here saying their fudge came out grainy, and that would be why! So make sure to use confectioner's, and I've found that 7-8 minutes is the right amount of time for the "soft ball stage" to be reached, but you really ought to try it out in a cold glass of water every 30 seconds until it forms little balls in the water. I added a little more peanut butter in my 2nd try as well, maybe 1/8 cup more, and my family definitely liked it better, so if you're a PB stickler like me, add more peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
815 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bri
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This was really good fudge!!! Easy to do, as long as you know about the soft ball thing. Could have had more of a peanut butter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This was a horrible recipe! I tried it twice and both times immediately after adding the peanut butter the fudge hardened up and became rock solid and crystalized. I was sad to have wasted all my ingredients on this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This fudge was so easy to make. And it tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cedar Bluff, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
it didnt work at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIGAL1976

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States