Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I don't understand the reviews stating that this was messy or time consuming. It took me 20 minutes, and that's with a toddler nipping at my heels. I stuck them in the freezer to harden, and that took 5 minutes. I had the perfect amount of chocolate and filling. I easily brushed the melted chocolate up the sides of the cups. I think it's important to cut the paper liners in half. Then you just barely have to push the chocolate up the edge. These would be better with milk chocolate, but I had to use semi-sweet dairy-free, and they were still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Oh dear goodness, this recipe is a forever keeper for sure! I made these for a Christmas gift and it was VERY well received! I did have to make it twice as the first time I didn't use liners (at the suggestion of other reviews) and they totally stuck. Honestly this wasn't too much a tragedy as I enjoyed devouring the stuck batch, but the second time around using the cupcake liners worked perfectly and came off of the cups with no problem! Make this recipe, you're hips may be sorry but your mouth will not be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Everettrj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Proportions way off... I needed to find another bag of choc chips to finish and still had a quarter cup of peanut butter left over... The peanut butter mixture was too soft to effectively get into the cups. I also found the step of cooling the first part made them crack apart too easily whereas my old recipe just had you drop a ball of peanut butter in and cover right away w/ more chocolate worked better. I used to make these years ago using mini cups but couldn't find any so tried this one. The taste is great though, and super simple. Next time 1/2 the amount of filling will be what I try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Fabulous! Read the reviews & incorporated some great tips for an amazing result! The only thing I would say is that using a silicone mini muffin pan is the best thing to put these in! Oh! Also, if you're short on time pop it in the freezer rather than the fridge :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
these taste AMAZING!! but i did the mistake of not using muffin cups on the ideas of others. DO NOT do what i did!! they just fell apart and wouldnt come out of the muffin tin!! i used cooking spray, but they just wouldnt budge! eventually i just used my knife to get them out. The presentation wasnt very good, but still great on taste. Next time i will definetly be using muffin cups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcookiev

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Used good quality dark chocolate & organic PB (i.e. just peanuts, nothing added), worked out great...and is the "healthy" version ;) Also tried half the batch with almond butter instead, just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Awesome recipe! Based on other reviews, I added some butter to the chocolate when melting it.. and I added a splash of vanilla to the peanut butter mixture. I used a pastry brush to get the chocolate on the paper liners... Next time, I will make the chocolate layer a little thicker. Everyone who tasted these said they are better than Reese cups! If you have any trouble removing the paper liners, just put them in the freezer for about 10 minutes. Perfect easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe!!!! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DT011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Very yummy! Very sweet when using semi-sweet chocolate chips. I used a double boiler to melt my choc chips, as I've had bad luck with microwave melting. Also put in some graham wafer crumbs as others have suggested. I would recommend using a mini muffin pan. I put paper liners in and gave each liner a quick spray with Pam. Had no troubles peeling them off. This would make a fantastic Christmas dainty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I thought these were delicious. After reading many reviews, these are the things I found most helpful: 1. Use small muffin cups and oil them...the PB cups come out just fine after frozen. 2. Try to use a thin layer of chocolate on the top and the bottom. The ones that I thought were too thin as I was making them, actually turned out the best when it was time to eat them! 3. I preferred 1/2 milk chocolate chips and 1/2 unsweetened baker's chocolate. 4. I used kosher salt, which added a nice texture to the PB mixture. I easily made these and cleaned up the dishes in under an hour, so it really wasn't that labor intensive or messy in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States