Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I don't make all that many dessert items but I just had to try this with my love for peanut butter cups. My friends loved these as well and it wasn't all that hard to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Fourqurean

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Very "filling". Rather than making a bunch of smaller cups, I made one huge one that could be sliced up. After having only a small portion equal in size to one of the store-bought cups, I was done. The peanut butter mixture Is much more like actual peanut butter than the peanut butter cups bought in stores, which makes it seem much more fillingl. Also it was much sweeter than the store bought kind, but that's just because I used half semi-sweet, half milk chocolate chips. Would make it again, I just have to refine the process a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I made these as a surprise for my Reeses-loving husband. He was in heaven, he thought they were the best things in the world. I, however, thought they were a bit too hard. I don't know, I'm used to peanut butter cups that are really soft and that melt in your mouth. They did taste good, though. I just didn't enjoy having to gnaw on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mariposa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Delish! I used a standard size muffin tin and liners and made about six large peanut butter cups. I only added 1/4 cup confectioners' sugar to the peanut butter filling because I really wanted to taste the peanuts and it was plenty sweet. I took huge dollops of peanut butter and encased them in extra thick layers of milk chocolate. You won't find peanut butter cups this good in any grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
So good! Next time I'll be using milk chocolate...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Easy and Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
So, so easy and delicious. I followed the recipe almost exactly; I used semisweet chocolate chips (one cup + one cup) melted on the stove with about a tablespoon of butter. I also added about a tablespoon of SKOR chips to the filling. I found the recipe yields approx. 18 pieces. I will definitely make these again, and I will also: 1) use smaller paper cups 2) use real peanut butter instead of Skippy 3) use better quality chocolate 4) stick with the SKOR chip addition, because those little crunchy nuggets were seriously awesome. I brought them to the office for a birthday and they went over REALLY well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made these for a friend who is a Reeces cup addict, and he said they were 'two thumbs up.' I took the suggestions of other reviewers by greasing a silicone muffin sheet instead of using liners, and added 1/4 cup crushed graham cracker and about 1 tsp vanilla extract to the peanut butter mixture. When they were done the top layer was a bit patchy, and some of the filling was exposed, so I used a pastry brush to smooth the top layer with some additional melted chocolate. It made some really pretty brush strokes, and I'm a bit of an artist, so I'm planning on getting some butterscotch and white chocolate chips - which I can then color with food-dye, and do some nice pictures on the cups for festive treats and gifts to give away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
These were AMAZING! They definitely beat the store bought. I used the paper cup liners and spooned the melted chocolate (which I melted butter in w/ the chocolate) into the tin cups ( about a 1/4 of the way up). Then put into freezer. After I mixed up the peanut butter mixture, I took the chocolate cups out of the freezer & added the P.B. (close to the to the top but not quite). I took the rest of the melted chocolate and poured it on the top (with a small spoon) over all the cups and put in the freezer for about 15-20 minutes. They're great frozen because they pop right out of the cupcake tins! Then you can eat them chilled or wait til they're room temp. Total perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Sebastopol, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Great recipe-- but take the extra tips as well! I added a teaspoon of butter to the chocolate to silken it a little. I also added 1/4 cup crushed honey graham cracker and 1 tsp vanilla to the peanut butter mixture. Used miniature muffin cups to make the candies like the bite sized Reese's instead of full sized. Skipped the fridge, went directly to the freezer for fast setting. The thinner the chocolate on the walls of the cup the better, as long as it is a solid layer. I also melted a little dark chocolate, put it in a decorating bag and drizzled it over the tops of the cups for a little decoration. Easy and yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States