Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
They taste good, but if you follow the recipe like I did, they're difficult to put together. The dough is very dry, so all those "chip's don't blend well at all. Also, they do not flatten out like a chcocolate chip ccokie (or the photo) I froze the Reeses bits,but that didn't help much. Sorry, but I would NOT make these again.Way too much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
As per other reviews I used 1/2 shortening & 1/2 butter. I also only used 1/4 cup white sugar (I ran out) with 3/4 dark brown sugar and these were plenty sweet enough. I also cut back the cocoa power to about 1.5 TBL because I wanted to taste the PB. These cookies came out thick with a crispy outside and moist middle. I only cooked them for 9 mins and let them rest on the sheet for 9 mins before transferring to wire rack. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
A big thumbs up!!! Followed the recipe except the store didn't have peanut butter chips so I used a full bag of chocolate/peanut butter swirl chips. Wow!! These cookies are so light and moist and flavorful! I usually hate using cocoa powder because it makes the dough sticky, but I'll keep a container on the shelf just for these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
excellent! OMG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
These turned out great. I didn't realize that I didn't have any cocoa powder until I had this cookie dough almost all done. I used 1/3 c. of flour in it's place. No peanut butter cups, so I used two large Butterfinger candy bars all crushed. Small subs, cookie was still off the hook. MAKES A TON. Ten minutes was perfection for this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Delicious cookies! I made exactly as written and baked for 8 minutes. Turned out perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Made these today, though modified it based on others reviews. I kept the cocoa powder. Can't tell if it is the vanilla or that which leaves a funny aftertaste. I used half crisco/half butter. Half dark and half light brown sugar. mini reeses cut in half and frozen. mini kisses (they had no chunks), peanut butter chips, inadvertently bought chunky Jiff, so I used that. Baked 7 minutes on parchment. Then realized I forgot baking soda. But they came out beautiful anyway. After tasting, I was surprised to see that the PB flavor was so mild, like others have said. I realized that there is no salt. Next time I will throw in a tsp of salt or more to bring out the PB flavor. I like my PB salty. Either way, these were a hit. But the first time my children didn't ask for a second cookie! VErY rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
YUM YUM. I'm still baking but have already eaten a couple cookies from the first batch. I used chunky PB since that's what I wanted to use up and I also happened to have a bag of mixed choc and PB chips so that was perfect. They're delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by branddia
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
We love cookies and this is a new favorite! I added chopped reese cups and reese pieces instead of chocolate and peanut butter chips. Next time the only thing I would change is leaving out the cocoa. I would have liked it be more of a peanut butter cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by branddia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Read many of the reviews before I made them. Decided to do as many others did and cut way back on the cocoa powder, maybe used a tablespoon or two. I pressed the frozen cut up reese's into the cookies before I baked. Everything else I did as written. Love, love, love these! My boyfriend ate them about 3 of them before I even had them on the cooling rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Combine chewy cookies with peanut butter cups for a real treat.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States