Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Followed advice of others and used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup crisco. I didn't have peanut butter chips, so obviously didn't add those. Froze my quarter pb cups as others suggested. Also let my cookies sit on the tray for 10 minutes after coming out of the oven. Now, for my details: I will not add cocoa next time - not necessary at all. Will try adding a half cup or so of chopped pecans - think that might help to cut the sweetness a bit. I might even cut back on the white sugar a bit - maybe to 1/2 cup. Otherwise, a yummy cookie - made these for my favorite son-in-law who is coming to visit with our daughter, because he LOVES Reese's peanut butter cups....don't be concerned I'm playing favorites, as he's our ONLY son-in-law! Thanks Joanna for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
They taste good, but if you follow the recipe like I did, they're difficult to put together. The dough is very dry, so all those "chip's don't blend well at all. Also, they do not flatten out like a chcocolate chip ccokie (or the photo) I froze the Reeses bits,but that didn't help much. Sorry, but I would NOT make these again.Way too much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
As per other reviews I used 1/2 shortening & 1/2 butter. I also only used 1/4 cup white sugar (I ran out) with 3/4 dark brown sugar and these were plenty sweet enough. I also cut back the cocoa power to about 1.5 TBL because I wanted to taste the PB. These cookies came out thick with a crispy outside and moist middle. I only cooked them for 9 mins and let them rest on the sheet for 9 mins before transferring to wire rack. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
A big thumbs up!!! Followed the recipe except the store didn't have peanut butter chips so I used a full bag of chocolate/peanut butter swirl chips. Wow!! These cookies are so light and moist and flavorful! I usually hate using cocoa powder because it makes the dough sticky, but I'll keep a container on the shelf just for these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip Dally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
excellent! OMG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
These turned out great. I didn't realize that I didn't have any cocoa powder until I had this cookie dough almost all done. I used 1/3 c. of flour in it's place. No peanut butter cups, so I used two large Butterfinger candy bars all crushed. Small subs, cookie was still off the hook. MAKES A TON. Ten minutes was perfection for this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Delicious cookies! I made exactly as written and baked for 8 minutes. Turned out perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Made these today, though modified it based on others reviews. I kept the cocoa powder. Can't tell if it is the vanilla or that which leaves a funny aftertaste. I used half crisco/half butter. Half dark and half light brown sugar. mini reeses cut in half and frozen. mini kisses (they had no chunks), peanut butter chips, inadvertently bought chunky Jiff, so I used that. Baked 7 minutes on parchment. Then realized I forgot baking soda. But they came out beautiful anyway. After tasting, I was surprised to see that the PB flavor was so mild, like others have said. I realized that there is no salt. Next time I will throw in a tsp of salt or more to bring out the PB flavor. I like my PB salty. Either way, these were a hit. But the first time my children didn't ask for a second cookie! VErY rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
YUM YUM. I'm still baking but have already eaten a couple cookies from the first batch. I used chunky PB since that's what I wanted to use up and I also happened to have a bag of mixed choc and PB chips so that was perfect. They're delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by branddia
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
We love cookies and this is a new favorite! I added chopped reese cups and reese pieces instead of chocolate and peanut butter chips. Next time the only thing I would change is leaving out the cocoa. I would have liked it be more of a peanut butter cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by branddia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Combine chewy cookies with peanut butter cups for a real treat.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States