Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
It was a hit with everyone, and very easy and quick. I thought it was good, just nothing that particularly stood out. I took the suggestion of adding a little shortening to the chocolate chips, and had no problems cutting them. Next time I will add a bit of almond extract to the graham cracker layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB2323

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Very easy and good. I too would recommend cutting the powdered sugar to just 2 cups because they are quite sweet. We will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Very easy recipe to make! I used 2 c confectioners sugar. I did use the parchment paper and it worked well. I mixed 1 T of peanut butter in with the melted chocolate. Cut in to small pieces as it is rich. Tastes like a peanut butter cup. This was popular and enjoyed by all. Thanks to previous reviews before I made it.-The Entertaining Hen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
They are good -- super rich. They cut easily into perfect squares of any size so they're good for bringing to bake sales or pot locks. If you know anybody who is a serious Reese Cup addict (my husband is one) then these will be an instant hit. They took a long time to disappear in our house (about 3 or 4 days, which is long for sweets in our house) because you only need a tiny slice. It's like eating a 9x13 sized Reese cup. It takes time people! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I am making these for holiday gifts. Wanted something easy that would help me use up my peanut butter stash. I only used one stick of butter, upped the amount of peanut butter to 2 1/2 cups and lowered the amount of powdered sugar and graham cracker crumbs to 2 cups. I found that if you melt the butter and peanut butter very well before adding other ingredients it is easier to spread into pan. Used 1 bag of milk chocolate chips with 1/2 cup peanut butter added when melting. Used a 9 x 13 lined with wax paper with overhang. Let set up in fridge then lifted out of pan with no problems. Then wrapped in foil and froze. When ready to give as gifts, remove, bring to room temp, slice, and box (I put each piece in a cupcake liner). Very happy with this recipe. :-) Taste very much like a reese's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was super easy to make, and everyone loved them!! I made them for Thanksgiving for an extra dessert, but next time, I'll have to make them for just us at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I made this recipe just like it says and let them set and chill 5 minutes before slicing, then put them back in the fridge until completely set. The next time I make them going to use cupcake baking cups and a muffin tin place chocolate in the bottom of cupcake baking cups set it in the fridge until it's set so the peanut butter layer will not push the chocolate out, then peanut butter then chocolate on top have my own name brand peanut butter cup for taking in my cooler to work or for having as a finger dessert plus then there will be no slicing to have to take the chance of the chocolate breaking. A very good recipe will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Super quick and easy! Tasted better than I had expected...to the point where sharing is a MUST! (As difficult as it will be to part with these babies~ I don't trust myself with the whole batch!) I adjusted as recommended to only 2 cups sugar, used milk chocolate instead of semi sweet, and added 1 tbsp peanut butter to the chocolate chips before melting. Sprinkled a little bit of chopped pecans on top before chilling too. Lining the pan (I used an 8x8) with waxed paper, and cutting with a pizza cutter made the bars a breeze to divide. My peanut butter loving husband and teenage boys are thrilled to have this added to our growing list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennRose729

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This is a great recipe but like the others I reduced the powdered sugar to only 2 cups and since I didn't want to use up the last of our graham crackers I used only 1.5 cups of graham cracker crumbs and 1 cup of wheat flour. I also only put in 3/4 cup of peanut butter. It still tasted delicious and nobody knew I put in the wheat flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midvale, Utah, USA
Living In: Herriman, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I am giving this recipe 5 stars because I should have made it as stated. Instead I followed some reviews that I wish I hadn't. I decreased the butter to less than 3/4 cup and I increased the chocolate chips to 3 cups. The base ended up a little dry and crumbly and the chocolate layer was too too too chocolatey. That's alot coming from me - a confirmed chocoholic. The chocolate layer was just too overpowering. I will make these again & include between 3/4 and 1 cup butter & stick with 2 cups of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFCASSIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States