Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
this recipe is delicious. If you will add a half a cup of peanut butter to the chocolate it keeps it creamier and stops it from getting hard and breaking up. It also gives it a richer taste. The other thing I do is use milk chocolate chips. a litle secret is you can use any flavor chips you want and they all make their own flavor ie..white chocolate, or butterscotch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zmo
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
They turned out even better than I expected! I lined my dish with parchment paper and that worked out great. I only used 2 cups of confec. sugar. As for the chocolate, I used 1/2 milk chocolate and 1/2 semisweet, added a tbsp of margarine and a rounded tablespoon of peanut butter. Let me tell you... the chocolate was excellent. Cutting it was no problem either. We put it into the freezer for about 15 min, then removed it to slice, and then put in the fridge to finish setting. At first we cut into large 2 inch squares, but later I cut them into smaller (1 inch) squares, which worked out better for us (see my 2 pics). They are rich, so it's perfect to have a small piece at a time. At least it worked out that way for my family:-) This is a definitaly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Delicious! I didn't change a thing. I made two batches for a bake sale tomorrow and am disappointed I can't keep them all for myself. FYI: I figured out that 2.5 cups graham cracker crumbs is the same as 15 whole graham crackers (where each graham cracker is 4 of the small rectangles). At least that's how they do them around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
These were really, really good. I made a few small changes to reduce the fat/sugar content: used reduced fat graham crackers (about 16 crushed up), reduced fat peanutbutter and I reduced the amount of sugar to 2 cups and used 2/3 cup melted margarine instead of the butter. I also used equal parts of milk chocolate chips and semi-sweet chips for the chocolate layer and topped 1/2 the batch with finely chopped pecans and shredded coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desihannagan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
These were wonderful!!! Sooo very easy. I lined the pan with parchment and let it hang over the edge of the pan. I just lifted the whole thing out and they sliced perfectly. Thank you, this will be used often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
These are absolutely delicious. Originally I made them for dessert tonight, but when they came out I had to have a little taste...WOW. I made the mistake of cutting them right out of the fridge....didn't see the other reviews until too late, and the chocolate layer did not stick to the peanut butter layer and cracked all over the place. Now I know to let them come up to room temperature. I also used chuncky (honey roasted) peanut butter and milk chocolate. Definate do over. "Too easy...don't tell anyone!" Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I thought this tasted great, just like the PB cups. I would recommend milk chocolate instead of semi-sweet. Also, I refridgerated the bars for an hour, then tried to cut them. Bad mistake. The chocolate layer cracked as I cut it. I'd recommend only putting it in for a short while (5 min) then cut, or at least let the bars warm up to room temp before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
These are addictive, even with my lowering fat changes! I used half the margarine, just 2 cups of sugar, and 1 cup milk chocolate chips. The excess sugar and fat seems unnecessary, as it is plenty tasty with a lot less! Great treat. Fast to make and no hot oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Based on other reviews I cut the butter down to 3/4 cup and it was plenty. Next time I would increase the amount of chocolate and use a bigger tin - I found the base was too thick. Great taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
These were excellent! I took them to a lunch at church and everyone loved them and asked for the recipe. I followed some of the other reviewers advice and only used 2 cups of sugar, used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet, and added melted peanut butter chips to the top and swirled them together with the milk chocolate. I had to wait about 20 minutes before they were hard enough to cut, then I chilled them overnight. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States