Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
My husband called the gourmet peanut butter cups. I doubled the crust part, but next time I'll just do 1.5 I also increased the qty's for the chocolate layers too, but followed the peanut butter layer exactly. For the top layer I didn't have any shortening but I understood it was needed to help soften the chocolate, so I used a little canola oil cause that's what I had. I stirred it into the chocolate over a double boiler and it worked great! I'll use that trick again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
The crust is not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Ugh...I was SO excited to make these for my peanut butter loving husband for father's day, but they did not turn out! I followed the recipe (after reading reviews I used 9X9 pan, and added a bit extra powdered sugar to top mixture to make more crumbly) pretty much exactly. I knew they wouldn't be that great once my hubby started cutting into them and they were HARD AS A ROCK! He actually gave up, and ate a crumb instead. On the flip side, my 3 yr old and 1 yr old both gobbled them up. They flaked apart and were super crumby, not in a good way either. Maybe it was just something I did, but if you want a sure thing for peanut butter/chocolate bars then try a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Extremely tasty but hard as rocks to cut. I also had to add 1/4 cup more powdered sugar to get the peanut butter mixture less mud-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
When I made these I made it exactly as suggested other than using soften butter rather than fully melted. And I added some chopped peanuts between the chocolate and peanut butter. I made them specifically for my boyfriend because he likes peanut butter much more than I do. When I tried them I knew they were too rich but he agreed that there was waayy to much peanut butter. I think if you used a 9x9 pan and cut the peanut butter mixture on top in half it would be descent. I'm was a little disappointed because all of the rave reviews had me pretty excited. Overall a big disappointment for us, I'm gonna give them to the teenage boys next door.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Honestly, this one of the worst things I ever tasted. My niece said it tasted like rotted peanut butter crackers. I can't imagine how anyone rated this with 5 stars. Normally if I didn't have something nice to say I wouldn't say it at all, but this consumed money and time. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lysa166

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I should have gone with my gut and used softened butter instead of melted as the recipe called for. Neither the crust nor the peanut butter topping came out crumbly as the recipie indicatated. Not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbRN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Me and my hubby loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I agree with other reviewers that the proportions were all wrong in this recipe for a 9x13 pan, and there was just too much peanut butter filling overall. So sweet and rich you couldn't even taste the cookie crust. Not for us. I think I'd do better with a peanut butter swirled brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELABIGAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowview, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
We made these today and they taste just like Reese's PB cups! SO easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMND7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hopedale, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States