Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Instead of melting the chocolate to drizzle on top I simply added whole semi-sweet chocolate morsels. You could even try the peanut butter kind or even reese's pieces. This was a popular and easy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
These are a yummy treat, very easy to make. My 5-year-old made them with me and he had a lot of fun pressing the crust into the pan and then (gently!) pushing the peanut butter mixture into the chocolate layer. Also, I completely forgot to add the tablespoon of milk and it turned out fine without. The cook time on the crust seemed a little long, though. Just be sure, as one reviewer mentioned already, not to overcook it. It would be better a little lighter and fluffier than mine came out. Next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
I thought these were pretty good. I followed the recipe exactly,but my peanut butter mixture was not crumbly at all, it was like thick peanut butter, so it was hard to spread, it turned out more marbled than layered...maybe I should refrigerate it first next time??? They were good anyhow, just not as pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
very simple but my kid just loved it; he thinks the Elfs made the peanut butter...do not overcook the crust, though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
As of late, after all I've baked for my husband (Trust me, it's alot!!) now all of a sudden he thinks these are his ALL TIME FAVORITES!! Creamy, addictive, like candy bars, and he claims even better coming from the freezer! So you know now they freeze well too! Make sure you plan the way you'd like to top it with chocolate. Presentation is also important. I drizzled one way with the chocolate, then crossed over the other way! Pretty for chocolate! Thank you for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Very yummy! I added more powdered sugar to the topping to make it more crumbly- going according to the recipe it just becomes thicker peanut butter. Besides that very easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
These bars are awesome. I doubled the recipe and used a jelly roll pan and it worked well. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
It's GREAT! Very easy and quick. My nephews love making it with me and my boyfriend loves to eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Extremely tasty but hard as rocks to cut. I also had to add 1/4 cup more powdered sugar to get the peanut butter mixture less mud-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
When I made these I made it exactly as suggested other than using soften butter rather than fully melted. And I added some chopped peanuts between the chocolate and peanut butter. I made them specifically for my boyfriend because he likes peanut butter much more than I do. When I tried them I knew they were too rich but he agreed that there was waayy to much peanut butter. I think if you used a 9x9 pan and cut the peanut butter mixture on top in half it would be descent. I'm was a little disappointed because all of the rave reviews had me pretty excited. Overall a big disappointment for us, I'm gonna give them to the teenage boys next door.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States