Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was a very good, quick recipe. I did take other's suggestions and used 1/2 semi-sweet and 1/2 milk chocolate chips. I also put some chocolate on the bottom, and then the rest on the top. It is a very rich dessert. I would make the following recommendations...make it in a larger pan (they were very thick) and also sift the powdered sugar. I had problems getting the smaller lumps to dissolve. Overall a great recipe, as I had everything I needed on hand. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honduras Missionary Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Like a huge Reese's PB cup! I never have any left when I take these anywhere! I do, however, use less powdered sugar than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
These melt in your mouth! Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coellofamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I'd give this more than 5 stars if I could. These are so good. Have made them several times now and they are always a hit! I do add a couple of tablespoons of shortening to the chocolate to make it smooth. They are so easy to make and just delicious! Update: I have been using 1/2 smooth, 1/2 crunchy PB for some added texture. Since this dries that layer out some, I add 2 tablespoonfuls more butter and they are perfectly smooth. Also, for the cracking problem on the chocolate layer, try adding a few tablespoons of PB to that layer as well. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Soooooo good. No need to buy anymore Reese's peanut butter cups. I am about to make my second batch in less than 2 weeks! My husband isn't even a sweets eater, but these were his one exception! I even forgot to add the vanilla the first time and they were still great! Im going to try them in muffin cups this time because cutting into the hardened chocolate was sort of a crumbly but yummy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksdale, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
i made this for the rest of my family and we all thought it tasted like reece's peanut butter eggs we refrigerated it so the chocolate would harden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was just like the school's back in Ky . My grandmother made these years and years ago when she worked at the school's kitchens . Takes you back to your younger years , and such a sweet treat . Thanks for posting !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovetocookitup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hodgenville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Campbellsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AliDot
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Much like a slightly firmer peanut butter cup. These bars blend chocolate and peanut butter quite well without being over poweringly sweet. Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
These are always a hit, wherever I take them! I omit the brown sugar and use 3 cups of powdered sugar instead, and add 1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs (as suggested by another reviewer- thank you) Otherwise they are way too soft. I sometimes use a combo of milk chocolate and semi-sweet chocolate chips to cover the top or all milk chocolate chips. Scrumptious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Great! Super easy to make and they taste like a flat buckeye ball. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States