Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Fabulous! I didn't have to change a thing in this recipe!! My son and husband loved these. I will defiantly make them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
These are just like the ones I had in elementary school. If you like Reese Cups, you will LOVE this. So easy and good. Didn't change the recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
After we put them in the refrigerator for a while,they were a little easier to cut.Delicious,the more you let it cool the better it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Fabulous dessert! I followed the recipe as exact as I could, though I used only about 2 1/4 cups confectioners' sugar since that is all that I had. I used creamy peanut butter with 1 cup of each semi & milk chocolate chips (just because I prefer more of a milk chocolate flavor). I did use a jelly roll pan and am glad that I did...anything thicker would have been too much and way to sweet. Once pouring the peanut butter mixture in the pan, I put it in the freezer for about 10 minutes, I then added the chocolate on top. Once that started to harden (about 8-10 min), I scored it. I had perfect bars with no cracks or crumbles. Very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catkin
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Oh dear, I don't think I'll make these too often as they are very moreish, difficult to stop nibbling at! I used a good quality milk chocolate for the top as I don't like dark chocolate. I also used a litle less than the recipe says as I didn't want too thick a layer on top. I scored the bars while the chocolate was setting, but before it had hardened, so that the chocolate didn't crack when cutting out the bars. I also used crunchy peanut butter for added crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was a very good, quick recipe. I did take other's suggestions and used 1/2 semi-sweet and 1/2 milk chocolate chips. I also put some chocolate on the bottom, and then the rest on the top. It is a very rich dessert. I would make the following recommendations...make it in a larger pan (they were very thick) and also sift the powdered sugar. I had problems getting the smaller lumps to dissolve. Overall a great recipe, as I had everything I needed on hand. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honduras Missionary Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Like a huge Reese's PB cup! I never have any left when I take these anywhere! I do, however, use less powdered sugar than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
These melt in your mouth! Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coellofamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I'd give this more than 5 stars if I could. These are so good. Have made them several times now and they are always a hit! I do add a couple of tablespoons of shortening to the chocolate to make it smooth. They are so easy to make and just delicious! Update: I have been using 1/2 smooth, 1/2 crunchy PB for some added texture. Since this dries that layer out some, I add 2 tablespoonfuls more butter and they are perfectly smooth. Also, for the cracking problem on the chocolate layer, try adding a few tablespoons of PB to that layer as well. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Soooooo good. No need to buy anymore Reese's peanut butter cups. I am about to make my second batch in less than 2 weeks! My husband isn't even a sweets eater, but these were his one exception! I even forgot to add the vanilla the first time and they were still great! Im going to try them in muffin cups this time because cutting into the hardened chocolate was sort of a crumbly but yummy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksdale, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States