Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
so I read the reviews first and decided to address the issue of a "soft" bottom by making a cookie bar. I lined an 8 X 8 pan with parchment paper. Bought a box of chocolate chip cookie mix and followed the directions on the box, added in a few drops of water to loosen it a bit. Spread the cookie dough on the bottom and baked it for about 15 minutes til golden brown. I then reduced Daw's recipe by half. Cooled the cookie base til solid but still warm, spread on the peanut butter mixture and smoothed it out. Let it cool until it was set, melted Milk chocolate chips and spread it on top. Popped em in the freezer to set and then cut into small bars and enjoyed. Everyone enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
well this sounded good, i have a similar recipe called "Impostors" which are like Reeses bar:):):) they rock...I am not new to baking or cooking and I consider myself a pretty good cook but for some reason this flopped for me.....I think it was the brown sugar they turned out grainy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I loved these- they taste just like a peanut butter cup but are so much easier to make. I made mine with unsweetened peanut butter and I think they were just the right sweetness for me. Thanks for sharing this recipe- I will definately be making them again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I made this because they were gluten free. I followed the recipe as specified. They were OK. My son loved them. I expected more based on the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamel
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Awesome! I must admit, when I was mixing the "batter" I didn't think they would turn out. It seemed very runny without the usual graham cracker crumbs. I refrigerated the PB layer for 30 minutes, and it hardened nicely. I used 50/50 semisweet & milk chocolate chips with a dollop of PB for the topping. That's what I use for Special K bars & love it. I took the advice of others & lined my pan with wax paper to make removing bars easier (worked great!) and scored the chocolate while semi-soft and cut before it hardened completely. I had no problems with cracking. Flavor is excellent! Creamy & delicious! I will store these in the fridge as they get "melty" quickly at room temp. Perfect for my friend with Celiac disease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Oh. My. Gosh. I used my favorite ultra-smooth peanut butter, and dark chocolate and I can't stop nibbling on these! They are so good! I also skipped the vanilla, and I will omit the granulated sugar next time, too. Totally yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babylovespugs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
5 stars times 10! Awesome recipe and so very easy. I actually doubled the recipe and made in a LARGE (much larger than 9x13) pan. I added a tbsp of butter to the chocolate as it melted to help keep it soft and easier to cut after cooled. I also highly suggest using a standing mixer if you have one instead of mixing by hand! Takes a lot of arm muscles and still may not get the lumps of sugar smoothed out. I placed parchment paper on bottom of pan and spread the peanuttbutter over, then cooled it and did the chocolate top the mext day. Then let that cool as well. I followed another reviewers suggestion and scored the chocolate as it was cooling to allow for easier cutting with out cracking. This seemed to help. Also, not cutting when the chocolate is cold will help to keep them from cracking. Room Temp is fine. Great recipe, will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
So easy and delicious! Very much like Reese's cups. I followed the recipe exactly and pressed into a pan lined with parchment paper. After the bars had cooled a bit, I refrigerated them overnight. They pulled out of the pan easily with the parchment paper, making cutting easier. (Warning: they did not cut into perfect little rectangles - this didn't change the taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I make these for every event, and people always love them! The only change I make is doubling the chocolate. If I have time, I put them into individual mini cupcake liners - cute and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Sinfully delicious, and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States