Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Easy to make. I halved everything and stuck it in the freezer for half an hour to set. The peanute butter was still a bit too gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
OMG!!!! My children named these "Peanutbutter Goodness!" They are fantastic! Were a hit both at home and at work. I did tweek by adding 1/2 cup of graham cracker crumbs (aka sweet crumbs) per previous review. Will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Excellent flavor, bottom was a little mushy. Thank you will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I made these exactly as written. To clarify, the peanut butter I used was the smooth (or creamy) kind. I don't think I've ever had these before, let alone made them. They tasted great! Even though the recipe is easy, I was a little worried, since I'd never made anything quite like it, and it was a bit messy to prepare. I did have one minor quibble with my results: the peanut butter layer had a slightly grainy taste (due to the brown sugar), but this was most likely my particular problem, since my brown sugar was slightly dried out, and perhaps I didn't mix the peanut butter mixture long enough (I sure thought I had!) But the combination of flavors was great, pretty close to a "peanut butter cup". I kept the results refrigerated, which indeed made it a little hard to cut neatly into servings, and to get them out of the pan. They were pretty sweet and rich, so I'm glad I made 12 servings last me about 9 days or so. I guess there are a lot of recipes like this, but this first-time experience is close to being an awesome, 5-star recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by echofraker
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Better than reeses peanut butter cups. I also used wax paper and put it out on a cutting board to cut into squares. I also cooled and stored in the fridge cause it was taking awhile to set. Turned out great and very rich/sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echofraker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
YUMMMM!!! This is so rich and peanut-buttery!! It is smooth and creamy with a melt in your mouth texture! 1 tip for storage: Store this in the fridge for best results, but let warm up slightly before cutting so the chocolate doesn't crack. Overall, this was AMAZING!! Better than REESE's peanut butter cups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
These were good-tasted like Reece's Peanut Butter Cups. I used the Hershey chocolate chips. But, they turned out crunchy from the brown sugar. I think next time I will melt the brown sugar in the butter. I put them in the fridge and they cut easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
When I was in elementary school (30+ years ago!) these were a favorite treat served with our school lunches. They were called Hollywood Squares. Somehow my mom snagged a copy of the cafeteria's recipe which is identical to this one EXCEPT it also calls for a 1/2 cup of sweet crumbs. For years, I left this out because I wasn't exactly sure what that meant. I later discovered that it meant finely crushed cookie or graham crackers. I use graham cracker crumbs (make sure they are really fine!) and it makes this recipe. It gives the peanut butter layer some substance (without making them dry or crumbly) which makes for much easier cutting. For those of you who have trouble with the chocolate layer cracking -- let the bars chill until firm, then remove from the frig and let warm up a tad before cutting. No cracks and smooth cutting. I also add a couple tablespoons of margarine to the chocolate chips before melting. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
A*W*E*S*O*M*E thats all I can say. I didn't have the chocolate to do the topping, i just sprinkled chocolate shavings on top while it was still warm, oh so good. I can't wait to try it with the chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Cvek Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
For easy cutting, line the pan with wax paper or foil. Leave about 1 inch over hang on the ends. Place ingredients inside, allow to set as directed. Remove from pan by edges of foil/paper and use a pizza cutter to cut into nice, smooth squares. We use this method with all desserts/bars that need to be cut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States