Chocolate Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I have found that the trick to making Pavlova is that you are done mixing if you turn the bowl upside down and nothing comes out, then it is ready to be baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nekole_02
Home Town: Excel, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
It was awesome,everyone loved it. I think the trouble some of you ran into is the cocoa powder is mixed into the egg whites. The melted chocolate is drizzled over the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is a luscious, "pretty-to-look-at" dessert...I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delta, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This deserves 100 stars; it is sooooooo insanely good! Taking other reviewers' advice, I ground some chocolate chips in a food processor vs melting the chocolate. I also used lemon juice instead of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
If you're used to a traditional Pavolva, then this will disappoint--the chocolate does cause it to spread a little, so the result doesn't have the same height, and it has a bit more of a chewy texture than the classic take. But if you don't mind something a little different--and very chocolatey--then, this is perfect! To help minimize spreading, allow your chocolate to cool completely after melting, then lighten it a bit by folding a few spoonfulls of the egg-white mixture into the chocolate before folding the chocolate itself into the egg whites. I also cut the recipe in half and used 1/2 cup superfine baker's sugar and 3 packets of stevia instead of the original sugar measurement. I baked it for 1 hour at 275, let it cool completely, then cut it into wedges and served it in dessert-cups topped with Italian meringue (our replacement for whipped cream, since we don't eat dairy) and macerated berries. The results were gone in minutes. Thank you for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I thought it was a bit chewy but no one else seemed to notice. It was a real hit with the family. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Really...how can this go wrong? Chocolate, strawberries and whipped cream all in one package? And it doesn't sit heavy on your stomach, now or later! Gotta try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Excellent Recipe! I skipped the strawberries and added a ton of my own homemade whipped cream and it was devine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayna119

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
WOW! This was excellent. I followed the recipe exactly as written, except I did not let it cool the full hour. And it was still perfect. There was a little spreading, but it was still wonderful. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sudanmom
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Bulawayo, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States