Chocolate Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I only used 1 cup of flour and I didn't find them runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I made these for breakfast today and I was in heaven. They turned out better than I expected. Since I didn't have vanilla, I used the brown sugar rendering from the sautéed ripe plantains I made as a side to go with them. I also put some plantain in the batter, so I reduced the amount of chocolate chips but it was a nice combo because the pancakes were slightly sweet but not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Amazing. I added bacon to the batter. My partner and I were in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
OMGosh! This pancake was the best I ever had! I made no alterations and the recipe is perfect! The pancakes were light and fluffy, it had the right amount of sweetness and the chocolate chips just made them even more heavenly...my daughter (8) said they tasted like brownies! I served with raspberry sauce, blackberries and confectioner sugar! The BEST! This is a keeper. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I added about 1 Tsp of baking powder. Used both white and chocolate chips. We really enjoyed these. We made them for brunch on Saturday. The kids LOVED them and my oldest daughter wants these for her birthday sleepover breakfast coming up soon. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Really wonderful taste though a bit heavy ...next time i have plans to replace butter with fat free sour cream.I didnt melt butter to keep consistency right and added baking powder and baking soda both ...Used only white chocolate chips.Taste was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Siya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I made this as directed and loved it. If you like your chocolate-chocolate chip cookies a little mushy (like I do) you should try these pancakes. Perfect for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraPocket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I don't know why previous commenters are saying that this batter is thin and runny. Other than adding a tbsp of baking powder (as I prefer fluffy pancakes) and an extra tbsp of sugar since I didn't have chocolate chips on hand, I followed the recipe to the letter and the batter was the perfect thickness for scooping and pouring. I lowered the heat on my frying pan to medium low and these pancakes cooked up fluffy and perfect very quickly (2-3 minutes on the first side; 1 minute after flipping). My kids loved them, comparing them to having chocolate cake for breakfast. I gave them 4 stars only because I had to add the baking powder. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krys_L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Freeport, Bahamas
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
These were tasty pancakes. It had a nice chocolate flavor without being overly sweet. I added 1 tsp of baking powder hoping for a fluffy pancake but they were, excuse the expression, "as flat as a pancake". They were not fluffy at all. I didn't find the batter to be particularly runny so I was expecting the pancake to rise but it didn't. Instead of mixing the chocolate chips in the batter, I sprinkled them on top after I poured it into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
My picky 2 year old requested chocolate pancakes for lunch, so I turned to this recipe. In an attempt to bulk it up a bit, I added a mashed, over ripe banana, added a couple scoops of flaxseed and omitted the butter. I think I also added some cinnamon. I also didn't have any chocolate chips, and figured we could do without the added sugar anyway. I thought the batter was very thin, but it cooked up nicely. Not a fluffy pancake by any means, but tasty for sure! Not quite as thin as a crepe, but not quite as fluffy as a traditional pancake. They were a hit with all the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States