Chocolate Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I don't know why previous commenters are saying that this batter is thin and runny. Other than adding a tbsp of baking powder (as I prefer fluffy pancakes) and an extra tbsp of sugar since I didn't have chocolate chips on hand, I followed the recipe to the letter and the batter was the perfect thickness for scooping and pouring. I lowered the heat on my frying pan to medium low and these pancakes cooked up fluffy and perfect very quickly (2-3 minutes on the first side; 1 minute after flipping). My kids loved them, comparing them to having chocolate cake for breakfast. I gave them 4 stars only because I had to add the baking powder. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krys_L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Freeport, Bahamas
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Dense, thin and took forever to cook. Also, they did not taste chocolately at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
OMGosh! This pancake was the best I ever had! I made no alterations and the recipe is perfect! The pancakes were light and fluffy, it had the right amount of sweetness and the chocolate chips just made them even more heavenly...my daughter (8) said they tasted like brownies! I served with raspberry sauce, blackberries and confectioner sugar! The BEST! This is a keeper. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Not good. They were VERY thin and dense. I was really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I added about 1 Tsp of baking powder. Used both white and chocolate chips. We really enjoyed these. We made them for brunch on Saturday. The kids LOVED them and my oldest daughter wants these for her birthday sleepover breakfast coming up soon. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
These had more of a crepe texture rather than pancakes to me. The batter was very thin. I made some with the chocolate chips and some without. The ones without the chocolate chips were not very flavorful. These might be good with some whipped cream, but I don't think they'll become a staple in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I thought it was very tasty. I had to add a little more flour to thicken it up a bit. And I used the suggestion of 1 TBSP Baking Powder. I used real 85% dark chocolate and chopped it up and I heated up some raspberry preserves and used that as a topper. I also tried maple syrup, but the raspberry preserves are the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
My picky 2 year old requested chocolate pancakes for lunch, so I turned to this recipe. In an attempt to bulk it up a bit, I added a mashed, over ripe banana, added a couple scoops of flaxseed and omitted the butter. I think I also added some cinnamon. I also didn't have any chocolate chips, and figured we could do without the added sugar anyway. I thought the batter was very thin, but it cooked up nicely. Not a fluffy pancake by any means, but tasty for sure! Not quite as thin as a crepe, but not quite as fluffy as a traditional pancake. They were a hit with all the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
These were ok at best. I had to add baking powder and a bit of extra flour to thicken up the otherwise thin batter. I also added banana slices, and swapped some of the chocolate chips for peanut butter chips. My chocoholic brother described these as "brown pancakes"- all the chocolate flavor came from the chocolate chips & the nutella we slathered on top. I found these really thin and rather "rubbery", as mentioned by other reviewers. I definitely prefer "Good Old Fashioned Pancakes" with chocolate chips, topped with nutella or fudge sauce if I'm looking for a real treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I made this as directed and loved it. If you like your chocolate-chocolate chip cookies a little mushy (like I do) you should try these pancakes. Perfect for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraPocket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States