Chocolate Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
OMGosh! This pancake was the best I ever had! I made no alterations and the recipe is perfect! The pancakes were light and fluffy, it had the right amount of sweetness and the chocolate chips just made them even more heavenly...my daughter (8) said they tasted like brownies! I served with raspberry sauce, blackberries and confectioner sugar! The BEST! This is a keeper. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
The texture was heavy and all the chocolate chips settled in the bottom so the underneath side was kind of rubbery (for the lack of a better description).. I think maybe these need some baking powder!.. I used a cast iron flower design pan, but that shouldn't have affected the taste/testure much. I won't make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by wildcat_abe
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
The recipe as written was not edible to me. There is no baking soda so they did not raise at all and the batter was so thin... The first one was like a crepe with this big blobs of chocolate chips sticking out. I added some more flour and some baking soda and they were a little bit better. But I would have been better off satisfying my craving with regular pancakes with chocolate chips thrown in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I added about 1 Tsp of baking powder. Used both white and chocolate chips. We really enjoyed these. We made them for brunch on Saturday. The kids LOVED them and my oldest daughter wants these for her birthday sleepover breakfast coming up soon. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Really wonderful taste though a bit heavy ...next time i have plans to replace butter with fat free sour cream.I didnt melt butter to keep consistency right and added baking powder and baking soda both ...Used only white chocolate chips.Taste was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Siya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I made this as directed and loved it. If you like your chocolate-chocolate chip cookies a little mushy (like I do) you should try these pancakes. Perfect for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraPocket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
These were ok at best. I had to add baking powder and a bit of extra flour to thicken up the otherwise thin batter. I also added banana slices, and swapped some of the chocolate chips for peanut butter chips. My chocoholic brother described these as "brown pancakes"- all the chocolate flavor came from the chocolate chips & the nutella we slathered on top. I found these really thin and rather "rubbery", as mentioned by other reviewers. I definitely prefer "Good Old Fashioned Pancakes" with chocolate chips, topped with nutella or fudge sauce if I'm looking for a real treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I thought it was very tasty. I had to add a little more flour to thicken it up a bit. And I used the suggestion of 1 TBSP Baking Powder. I used real 85% dark chocolate and chopped it up and I heated up some raspberry preserves and used that as a topper. I also tried maple syrup, but the raspberry preserves are the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I too added 1 Tsp of baking powder. The final product is sweet, which I found made maple syrup redundant, but it went quite well with apple cider syrup, a recipe for which is also available on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenny G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
These had more of a crepe texture rather than pancakes to me. The batter was very thin. I made some with the chocolate chips and some without. The ones without the chocolate chips were not very flavorful. These might be good with some whipped cream, but I don't think they'll become a staple in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States