Chocolate Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I love the recipe. Only thing I changed was I added 1/4 cup more flour 1 tablespoon baking powder and 1 extra tablespoon sugar. Came out perfectly fluffy and my sister loves them. (I added more flour because of elevation the batter was really super thin and pancakes spread out too much)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany McGrew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
My kids love these..... The batter is very runny and the pancakes cook up very thin and they took really long to cook.... also did not taste like chocolate. The only way to taste the chocolate is to add syrup onto the pancake in order to get the chocolate the flavor. I added additional flour and chocolate chip morsels and baking powder and they begin to fluff up. most definitely nothing like the chocolate chip pancakes that you get from
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
These were great! I added 1tbsp baking powder as someone else suggested and they were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
My friend and i made these hoping for a fluffy, chocolaty pancake. However, they did not rise at all (no baking powder or soda). Also, they had an unappealing, rubbery texture. They took forever to cook. Definitely NOT making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Thin and dense but good chocolate flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
the flavor was good, but texture was dense. I think the recipe should call for 1 tbsp of baking powder to fluff the pancakes up. I would make again with the addition of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I initially followed this recipe exactly as it is written. The batter was very thin and runny, and the pancakes cooked up to be thin, dense, almost custardy (and not in a good way). The taste was slightly bitter, with very little chocolate taste and the texture was unappealing. The second time, I doctored the recipe up a bit. I added extra flour, sugar, and put in about a TBSP of baking powder. The next couple rounds came out looking and tasting a lot better, but still not awesome. I'll be trying chocolate pancakes again, but definitely not with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
These were tasty pancakes. It had a nice chocolate flavor without being overly sweet. I added 1 tsp of baking powder hoping for a fluffy pancake but they were, excuse the expression, "as flat as a pancake". They were not fluffy at all. I didn't find the batter to be particularly runny so I was expecting the pancake to rise but it didn't. Instead of mixing the chocolate chips in the batter, I sprinkled them on top after I poured it into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Amazing. I added bacon to the batter. My partner and I were in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I only used 1 cup of flour and I didn't find them runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States