Chocolate Orange Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
The flavor of the filling is very good! I would recommend adding 1 Tbs. of either glucose or corn syrup to the unmelted chocolate and store in a seperate bowl. Heat the cream and butter as directed and pour it over the chocolate and zest. Cover and let sit for 10 minutes, then stir. Add the liquor last. Let the mixture sit in the fridge overnight... it will be more firm and have better orange flavor the next day. I would *not* recommend adding oil to the chocolate used for coating as it slows it from hardening. Also, do not be tempted to freeze the filling... the chocolate shell will crack if the filling is frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
A HUGE hit for Christmas! Definitely chill well between steps and I put the balls in the freezer for 30 minutes before dipping in the chocolate, which gave them a very professional look as the chocolate coating firmed up immediately. This one is perfect for a busy cook as the steps can take place over the course of a couple of days. Double the recipe because everyone will want them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
Very delicious and easy! I made these to give as homemade Valentine's Day candy. I would make the following recommendations to the recipe: double the recipe, I ended up with 28 very small chocolates. I would double the recipe and make larger balls. I had trouble getting my filling to get firm enough. Even after 2+ hours of chilling it wasn't firm enough to roll. So I scooped out the size balls I wanted onto a lined cookie sheet, then placed them in the FREEZER for 30 minutes, then I rolled them into balls, and "froze" for another 15 minutes longer before rolling them in the cooled chocolate coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Contrary to what may have been written by others, this recipe is very good and not too difficult to complete. The key is patience. I followed the recipe exactly and these truffles came out very well. But you must be sure to refrigerate the chocolate for at least 2 hours, then again after scooping and after rolling. That makes a huge difference in the end result. My only complaint was that I found the chocolates needed more sugar and a stronger flavor. The liquier just couldn't compete with the strength of the semi-sweet chocolate. ADDITIONAL NOTE: You must keep these refrigerated. If they get to room temperature the ganache melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
I made these using grand marnier. Instead of dipping in chocolate, I prefer my truffles rolled in cocoa, this worked fine. These are excellent, distinct orange flavor, but not too much. Melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
These were very good! I have to say, though, that I missed the professional look of tempered chocolate. I rolled half of them in pecans and the other half in cocoa. Freezing the balls for thirty minutes before coating them in chocolate made them very easy to work with. I just read in a magazine that, in order to avoid the foot that comes from coating with too much chocolate, pour some chocolate in your hand and roll the truffle in it. You have more control than dipping in chocolate. I doubled the recipe; the original recipe doesn’t make many truffles. Very nice and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I could hardly believe it, but it worked: I substituted organic coconut milk for the cream, and organic palm oil shortening for the butter. Added two tablespoons of homemade vanilla extract (it's not as strong as store-bought) instead of the orange flavor: and it all worked. And my dairy-allergic and corn-allergic family can enjoy truffles! I am one happy momma. Thank you, thank you for this forgiving and adaptable recipe!! Now if I can just stop eating them myself...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Made these last night. Oh My God Are They Good!!! Had a bit of a hard time getting the filling to chill stiff enough. But they turned out great. I also made a batch with Kahlua and instant coffee and they were good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
WHAT A MESS!!! In my opinion there is way too much liquid in this recipe. I planned to make these for my husband for Valentine's Day. I followed the recommendations submitted by other reviewers and chilled well/froze etc. I understand that weather conditions etc. can play a big part in the success or failure of a recipe but I could tell from the very beginning that this was not going to work because there was too much liquid. I had planned on a "love basket" and these were going to be the center piece... in a lovely container. I actually made 2 batches, neither of which came out. (You definately want to double this recipe unless you want VERY tiny little truffles). I was desperate..... at this point my husband would be home in 1 hour and I was NOT going to the mall to pay way too much for the name brand chocolate. I managed to find some more chocolate and started over. I doubled the recipe. I cut the butter and the cream in half. I kept the liquor the same. I followed the directions as usual up to this point where you "try to shape them into balls." After all the ingredients were mixed I got out my large tub of powdered sugar and just started adding it. I added and added and added until I came up with something that I could work with. I shaped them into balls and then froze them for approx. 10 minutes. I then dipped then in the chocolate. The recipe needs a lot of work but the taste if WONDERFUL. My husband is somewhat particular and said immediately th
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Loved this recipe, is really very tasty. I had problem with butter separation also, but not alot and I just scraped it off. I rolled mine in crushed pecans after the chocolate layer. I would reccomend letting the truffle sit in nuts awhile after rolling, alot of mine ended up with finger indents in because I tried to move them out of the nuts so quickly. I used a little ice cream scoop to make the filling balls, but should have shaped them after as some are little funny looking and not overly round. Tasty! and easy for a first time truffle maker. Will try again with Baileys, Frangelico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States