Chocolate Orange Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
Eacy, Quick , Tastes Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
I made these using grand marnier. Instead of dipping in chocolate, I prefer my truffles rolled in cocoa, this worked fine. These are excellent, distinct orange flavor, but not too much. Melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
Truffles taste great. When I chilled the filling, some of the butter rose to the top and hardened, was hard to mix back in before forming the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Made these last night. Oh My God Are They Good!!! Had a bit of a hard time getting the filling to chill stiff enough. But they turned out great. I also made a batch with Kahlua and instant coffee and they were good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Loved this recipe, is really very tasty. I had problem with butter separation also, but not alot and I just scraped it off. I rolled mine in crushed pecans after the chocolate layer. I would reccomend letting the truffle sit in nuts awhile after rolling, alot of mine ended up with finger indents in because I tried to move them out of the nuts so quickly. I used a little ice cream scoop to make the filling balls, but should have shaped them after as some are little funny looking and not overly round. Tasty! and easy for a first time truffle maker. Will try again with Baileys, Frangelico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
Very delicious and easy! I made these to give as homemade Valentine's Day candy. I would make the following recommendations to the recipe: double the recipe, I ended up with 28 very small chocolates. I would double the recipe and make larger balls. I had trouble getting my filling to get firm enough. Even after 2+ hours of chilling it wasn't firm enough to roll. So I scooped out the size balls I wanted onto a lined cookie sheet, then placed them in the FREEZER for 30 minutes, then I rolled them into balls, and "froze" for another 15 minutes longer before rolling them in the cooled chocolate coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
THERE WAS NO WAY I COULD GET 36 SMALL BALLS FROM 4 OZ OF CHOCOLATE. JUST MADE 14 LARGE TRUFFLES AND THEY WERE GREAT. GOOD RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I made these for my chocoholic friend. I had never made truffles before. I had one taste and almost fell to the floor! My friend said these were better than any chocolates she's ever had--that's including Godiva!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMBLEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
A HUGE hit for Christmas! Definitely chill well between steps and I put the balls in the freezer for 30 minutes before dipping in the chocolate, which gave them a very professional look as the chocolate coating firmed up immediately. This one is perfect for a busy cook as the steps can take place over the course of a couple of days. Double the recipe because everyone will want them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States