Chocolate Orange Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by sjsholar
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
These were AMAZING! So good. I made them for my boyfriend & his favorite flavors are orange and key lime so I made half of each. I took a reviewer's suggestion of making the filling mixture the night before and keeping in the fridge overnight. It was REALLY stiff by then, but I was still able to get it into balls. I would definitely double or triple the recipe if making for more than one person because mine only came out to 24 VERY small truffles. Taste is delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjsholar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallace, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Tasted great! Freeze the centre so you can roll the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Yummy! Simply awesome! I also made some Raspberry truffles, where I subbed the orange liquer for raspberry, and subbed the zest for instant coffee granuals. I think those tasted even better than the orange truffles. I'm bias though 'cause I love raspberries! (I was even told by non-raspberry lovers that they were awesome, and even better than the orange.) Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Afie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I was really disappointed with this. Maybe I chose the wrong chocolate or something, but I had to throw them out, no one would eat them because they were so bitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I am new at candy making, but found this pretty easy (yes, it's messy, but any time you work with melted chocolate, it's bound to be!) Chilling well between steps definitely helps. I followed the recipe EXACTLY and got DELICIOUS results. Brought these to a Holiday Cookie Exchange and got raves! (Quadrupled recipe) Topping with extra grated orange peel added an elegant touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This is great! Instead of rolling the I truffle and dipping it in chocolate, I put some chocolate in a candy mold and placed the truffle in. I also used Peppermint and Vanilla extract instead of Orange. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I've made hundreds of truffles in years past; I don't know what magic the other cooks here had, but following to a T..., the chocolate in no way shape or form was moldable without making a complete mess all over my hands, wasting and melting chocolate!!!!!! Tastes great, but I had to cut it into chunks before the chocolate dip step & covered with chopped peanuts to give them a more "professional" look due to their lack of general "shape."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I absolutely love this recipe, the truffles melt in your mouth. I made these for my Sister's birthday with Chambord and orange liqueur and they were fantastic, she absolutely loved them. Next time im going to take another reviewer's suggestion and try Kahlua or maybe some Bailey's. yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissTine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schodack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
The flavor of these are excellent! So far, I've made 4 batches, with varying types of chocolate and I've come to the same conclusion as others-- don't use super-dark chocolate. It'll separate from the butter. I also had a few problems in my later batches with the truffles turning out dry, but I'm pretty sure it's my own error that I'll work out in my next batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
These were very good! I have to say, though, that I missed the professional look of tempered chocolate. I rolled half of them in pecans and the other half in cocoa. Freezing the balls for thirty minutes before coating them in chocolate made them very easy to work with. I just read in a magazine that, in order to avoid the foot that comes from coating with too much chocolate, pour some chocolate in your hand and roll the truffle in it. You have more control than dipping in chocolate. I doubled the recipe; the original recipe doesn’t make many truffles. Very nice and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States