Chocolate Orange Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Made more like 16 truffles. Very hard to shape. Delicious though, and very rich - and adaptable with other liqueurs. Will try with amaretto or hazelnut liqueur next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
These cookies are better than store bought or specialty shop bought. In fact, a friend who compares chocolate chip cookies to the meaning of life (or is it that reversed?) said these are the best she's had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Contrary to what may have been written by others, this recipe is very good and not too difficult to complete. The key is patience. I followed the recipe exactly and these truffles came out very well. But you must be sure to refrigerate the chocolate for at least 2 hours, then again after scooping and after rolling. That makes a huge difference in the end result. My only complaint was that I found the chocolates needed more sugar and a stronger flavor. The liquier just couldn't compete with the strength of the semi-sweet chocolate. ADDITIONAL NOTE: You must keep these refrigerated. If they get to room temperature the ganache melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
These chocolates are delicious and so easy to make! They've been a big hit with everyone. I took the advice of others and let my filling sit over night. It was actually so stiff the next day that I added more liqueur. I did triple the recipe, and ended up with 50+ chocolates. I used one bag of chocolate chips for the filling and one for the coating. I think next time I make these I invest in a higher quality chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winchendon, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
These are fantastic! I made a ton to give to neighbors at Christmas and they are just awesome. I used different imitation flavors to make a bunch of different kinds. I melted white chocolate and added color to put on the top so we could tell which ones were which. Be prepared to get a little chocolatey when you make these though. I found the best thing to do is use the melon baller to scoop up the filling and then form it into better looking balls by hand. These are excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PENNYTOMLINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
Very good and very easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I am now the truffle queen thanks to this recipe! These are awesome. I substituted raspberry liquor for the orange flavoring and they were so good. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
The flavor of the filling is very good! I would recommend adding 1 Tbs. of either glucose or corn syrup to the unmelted chocolate and store in a seperate bowl. Heat the cream and butter as directed and pour it over the chocolate and zest. Cover and let sit for 10 minutes, then stir. Add the liquor last. Let the mixture sit in the fridge overnight... it will be more firm and have better orange flavor the next day. I would *not* recommend adding oil to the chocolate used for coating as it slows it from hardening. Also, do not be tempted to freeze the filling... the chocolate shell will crack if the filling is frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
YUMMY!!! It was very easy to make them though i had problems with chillin cos either they were too soft or too cool and firm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
These were awesome, and a big hit with everyone who tried them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States