Chocolate Orange Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Easy to make and the flavor is delicious, if you keep them cold. I found that room temperature they aren't that great, however if you keep them in the refrigerator until you eat them the flavor is much better. Keeping them in the freezer is the best! I rated them a four instead of a five because I found the texture to be a bit off; you can't tell as much when they are cold, but as they reach room temperature the mouth feel isn't as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is a great simple recipe. Tip: After I spoon out the granach, I refrigerate it until it is set up and then roll is with powdered sugar in my hands. Keeps sticky chocolate mess to a minimum and doesn't affect the great granach texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I could hardly believe it, but it worked: I substituted organic coconut milk for the cream, and organic palm oil shortening for the butter. Added two tablespoons of homemade vanilla extract (it's not as strong as store-bought) instead of the orange flavor: and it all worked. And my dairy-allergic and corn-allergic family can enjoy truffles! I am one happy momma. Thank you, thank you for this forgiving and adaptable recipe!! Now if I can just stop eating them myself...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
So I'm only 18 so I couldn't buy the orange liquer so I ended up using orange (and raspberry, I made two kinds) extract and they were terrible. It was so strong, it was like drinking whiskey, that super strong flavor. DO NOT replace liquer with extract!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casecase10
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lilanya
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Very good truffles. I grated some extra orange zest to sprinkle on top of the truffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilanya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
these are so simple to make with few ingredients but taste so absolutely decadent! so creamy and smooth, they melt in your mouth. I made the first batch with special dark chocolate chips but found after I got it together that it was not sweet enough. Since it makes a small batch and I am making these for holiday trays, I decided to make a second batch using semi-sweet and just mix the two batches. This worked out well, a little sweeter but still with a good dark chocolate flavor to compliment the orange. I used 1 tsp. pure orange extract per batch in place of liquor and it gave it a very nice orange flavor. Had no problems with separation, and stayed firm to roll and dip. Just make sure your dipping chocolate is not too hot, it will melt the delicate truffle mixture. thanks for this great recipe that is so versatile and tastes so gourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
depite spilling the heavy cream on the stovetop and starting a small fire, despite accidentally doubling half the recipe and having to run to the store to restock, and despite my inability to shape them, these truffles turned out nearly perfect. I need to brush up a little before next time, but there will definately be many "next time"s. substituting dark chocolate might not be the greatest idea, but if you're a true dark fan, give it a try. I think I used the wrong kind of orange liqueur and it might have clashed with the dark chocolate. like I said, "need to brush up". MAKE THESE FOR THE CHOCOLATE-LOVER IN YOUR LIFE!! (even if it's just you)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyn Sparks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Great and creamy, they melt in your mouth. I used orange and raspberry flavoring (it is cheaper than liquor and as a student I am on a limited budget) and Kahula in another batch and they all turned out great! I used milk chocolate in onw batch and dark chocolate in two others. When I used the dark chocolate both times the butter seperated, so use milk chocolate (you really don't need dark anyway because these are strong). Very easy to make (I thought truffles were hard to make) and total crowd pleasers. During Christmas I am going to make them with peppermint schnapps-cannot wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Instead of semi-sweet chocolate, I used bittersweet, which is definitely my preference with orange flavor! I used Triple-Sec for the liqueur and they came out great. The did get very, very soft after being out for a while, but that's ok. No use taking a bite, you just have to pop the whole thing! I used a small cookie scoop to make slightly bigger truffles than the recipe called for, but I still got 16 truffles. They were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Manor Hunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I kept them chilled until serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States