Chocolate Orange Marble Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
The consistency of the cake was good--moist like it said. But I agree with the reviewer that said it was flavourless. I added zest from one whole orange and juice, and it still doesn't have enough orange flavour. Maybe I will try with some spice next time???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Wonderful flavor and very moist. Please make exactly as directed. Chocolate and orange make good partners. Thanks for adding something worthwhile to my files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This cake is moist and quite flavorful and was the perfect complement to Rwandan coffee. Since this is the first time I've ever made a cake from scratch, I will likely use the batter base (before adding the chocolate or orange zest) to experiment with other flavors. I enjoyed this and hope you do too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by San Diego Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I found this bland and I even added a tsp of orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this for my son's birthday and it came out perfect and moist. I did make a few changes to increase the volume as wanted to cook the cake in a 10-inch Bundt pan.Here are the changes: 3 cups of flour, 2 cups of sugar, 4 eggs and 4 squares of chocolate instead of 2. These adjustments were enough to create a nice big fluffy cake in a 10-inch Bundt pan . Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I made this for my family but changed a couple things...not because I thought there was anything wrong with the recipe but only because of what we are used to eating. I used 3/4 cup vanilla yogurt instead of the plain and 1/4 cup cream cheese. I also used dark chocolate and it was devoured!! Yummy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrLoves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I made this today using cocoa and water instead of the unsweetened chocolate. It was easy to bake and very attractive to look at....and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I've really enjoyed playing with this recipe. It's been delicious every time. I did the chocolate orange recipe using hot cocoa mix and it turned our wonderfully! Most recently, I didn't split the batter, instead I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves to the batter and made a sort of spice cake that is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Nice & light tasting. I changed the top orange coating but left most of the recipe as it was written. Everyone was impressed and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I made this cake without the orange zest and instead used 2 tablespoons of orange liqueur. I also used icing sugar instead of the regular sugar for the topping. This cake was so moist and the flavour was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States