Chocolate Oil Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I tried this recipe and was at first a bit dubious as to how it would turn out - I have found this a very cheap and easy cake to do working with people who have very little in the way of funds and often new to baking this is excellent. Putting it all together and mixing is great for people of all ages and really simple. The cake is a big hit with everyone who has had it. Very chocolaty, rich in flavour and very moist. I am going to try this recipe using custard powder instead of cocoa just to see if it would work - I like to experiment and think this might make an alternative cake. I especially love this recipe as instead of water you can use a fruit juice such as orange or blackcurrant if you are planning to put toppings on top or inside - it is also great for people with lactose or egg intolerance so it is a handy tasty recipe to have on file highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
A nice basic chocolate cake! Next time I'll substitute 1 cup of water with filtered coffee for extra flavor! My mother does this with 1 cup of orange juice, plus some orange zest..! give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellouni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thessaloniki, Central Macedonia, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Im enjoying a slice of this delicious cake while commenting. It turned out surprisingly very nice. I will attempt adding a cup of cold coffee instead of just water as someone suggested earlier next time around and see how we go otherwise I will not change a thing to this recipe. Cant wait to take some for other family members to try out. 5 Stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I've made wacky cake for years, I learned it from my Nana who grew up during the depression. I couldn't find her recipe tonight, so when a chocoholic gets a craving, Allrecipes to the rescue again! This recipe was really good! Since there are only 2 of us in the house, I cut the recipe in half and baked in an 8x8 pan about 30 minutes. Every wacky cake I've made, I always add a little extra cocoa powder(about a tablespoon) since that is what my Nana did. I did change up this recipe slightly, I used half water, half orange juice, and it gave the cake a fantastic flavor! If you like those chocolate oranges at xmas time that you throw on the ground to break, then try this with the orange juice! I made a quick glaze for this with some powdered sugar and orange juice. Even with just the 2 of us, I don't think this cake will last past breakfast tomorrow morning! Thanks so much for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I'm still making it but it smells goodie! I'll tell you more when it's finished! see ya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Not bad for a cake without eggs! The cake was moist, chocolatey, and spongy. But I'm still more of a fan of traditional chocolate cakes. Good cake, but not sold on the eggless idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I used special dark cocoa and put in 3/4 c because most cakes are not chocolatey enough for me. I also put in an extra 1/4 c oil to compensate... its in the oven now, but the batter is delicious. I agree on the salt, I think it is salty, I will probably leave it out next time as I used apple cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Blackmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Family favorite. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Perfect! I was making mayo cake but I ran out of mayo after just a 1/2 cup so I found this recipe and followed everything, just with an extra 1/2 cup of mayo because I had already added to the mix. I did use whet flour because it was what I had at home, but the wheat taste was too strong. I am sure with white flour this will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I made this cake and I love it! It was the easiest cake to make and i had all the ingredients on hand. This cake was moist and delicious. After reading other reviews I doubled the the vanilla and salt amounts and reduced the oil to 2/3 cup. Perfect!! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States