Chocolate Oil Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This cake is so chocolatey and moist, and so easy to make. I made it with my 2 1/2 year old, and he had a great time. If I hadn't made it myself I never would have known that it's w/o eggs.I will definately make this again, will also use this recipe for cupcakes. I agree with another reviewer that this cake should be renamed, "chocolate oil cake" doesn't sound very appealing, but the cake is really great!Update: I used this recipe for cupcakes, took 20 minutes to bake and came out really good -I got 24 cupcakes out of this recipe. (This cake also freezes well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
wow i am impressed at the simplicity of this recipie and how perfect it came out. I halved the recipie and substituted applesuace for the oil and make 6 cupcakes out of it. Replace the oil for apple sauce saves a boat load of calories and each muffin i made only has 200 calories. Im eating these with some milk. yum a somewhat healthy chocolate fix this is, so moist and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oddball8945

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I'm giving this a 3 star for taste. It's a good chocolate cake. However, I attempted to bake it in 2 9-inch rounds. I was trying to make a chocolate layer cake. I buttered and cocoa-ed the pans. Unfortunately they stuck badly and werent usable (although my family enjoyed my "mistake").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Very similar to a recipe my family has made for years. It's the best chocolate cake ever, in my opinion! I use 1 tsp. salt, 2 tsp. vanilla and only 3/4 cup oil; then bake 30 min. It's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I found the results of this cake to be similiar to a devil's food cake recipe that I often use. This recipe is certainly rich and chocolately, but I didn't find it chewy at all, just wonderfully moist. I think the results are excellent if you want a very moist cake, and especially if you don't happen to have eggs handy. The only change I would make is to add a little more salt to the recipe. I made this for a friend's birthday and covered it with whipped cream and fresh strawberries. It was incredibly good. This is my new favorite chocolate cake recipe. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
This is great because: it's very easy, very quick, very chocolatey, very moist, very inexpensive, and very easy to clean up after (one bowl- yeah)! I brought this to a meeting and it was very well received too! I sub'd 1 c. of packed brown sugar for one of the cups of white sugar because that was what I had on hand. Turned out great & I just dusted with powdered sugar to serve. The only thing it needs is a "prettier" name- maybe "Super Cake"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This is a good basic chocolate cake. It's easy to put together with ingredients usually on hand. I frosted my cake with a jumbo Hershey's bar. I broke it into sections and placed evenly over the hot cake and allowed it to melt. Then I smoothed it over the entire cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I made this cake for a friend with a dairy allergy. It tasted pretty good - a lot like a boxed cake mix. It would work as a vegan cake as well. I improvised a non-dairy frosting of melted semisweet chocolate chips, 3 tbs brewed coffee, 1 tbs canola oil, and a little maple syrup for sweetener. Worked well together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
The cake was very moist and delicious. It was perfect because I needed to make cake but I didn't have any eggs! I think I'll stick to this recipe and save my eggs for something else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2000
One word - AWESOME! Try it, you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States