Chocolate Oil Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2000
One word - AWESOME! Try it, you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
The cake was very moist and delicious. It was perfect because I needed to make cake but I didn't have any eggs! I think I'll stick to this recipe and save my eggs for something else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I had this recipe about 10 years ago and lost it! I was so glad to finally have a copy again - I made it for my husband's birthday and even my son-in-law (who doesn't eat cake) had two pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I found the results of this cake to be similiar to a devil's food cake recipe that I often use. This recipe is certainly rich and chocolately, but I didn't find it chewy at all, just wonderfully moist. I think the results are excellent if you want a very moist cake, and especially if you don't happen to have eggs handy. The only change I would make is to add a little more salt to the recipe. I made this for a friend's birthday and covered it with whipped cream and fresh strawberries. It was incredibly good. This is my new favorite chocolate cake recipe. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
this cake is easy and quite delicious. the only downfall is evident in it's name: oil. the end product is rather oily. don't get me wrong, this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Great chocolate cake if you are in a hurry and don't have any butter or eggs on hand. Well, even if you do this is a great cake recipe. I added a drizzled topping of melted semi-sweet chocolate. Easy and goood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
the recipe's instantly become a favorite of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This is a good basic chocolate cake. It's easy to put together with ingredients usually on hand. I frosted my cake with a jumbo Hershey's bar. I broke it into sections and placed evenly over the hot cake and allowed it to melt. Then I smoothed it over the entire cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
This is great because: it's very easy, very quick, very chocolatey, very moist, very inexpensive, and very easy to clean up after (one bowl- yeah)! I brought this to a meeting and it was very well received too! I sub'd 1 c. of packed brown sugar for one of the cups of white sugar because that was what I had on hand. Turned out great & I just dusted with powdered sugar to serve. The only thing it needs is a "prettier" name- maybe "Super Cake"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I made this cake for a friend with a dairy allergy. It tasted pretty good - a lot like a boxed cake mix. It would work as a vegan cake as well. I improvised a non-dairy frosting of melted semisweet chocolate chips, 3 tbs brewed coffee, 1 tbs canola oil, and a little maple syrup for sweetener. Worked well together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States