Chocolate Oil Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I used brown sugar instead of white and it really didn't work. I want to try it again and this time I will follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie Troch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I tried this cake some time last week and while it was very easy to make, it seems to have some flaws in the amount of oil to use. I followed the recipe exactly and while the cake was moist, it had an oily feel to it. I would definitely make this cake again, just use less oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by collegekid12
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Great recipe, easy and using practical ingredients. I used 2/3 cup hershey's cocoa powder because I read other reviewers who thought it needed more flavor. I definitely did not want to over-do-it with vanilla extract, so I used more chocolate! Also, I substituted 1/2 c veg oil for 1/2 c of plain (no sugar added) off-brand applesauce. It was still moist, possibly less dense than it could have been if I had used all oil (but who knows?) and I did have a BIT of trouble getting it out of my well-greased spring-form 8" round cake pan. No worries, I pieced it bake together and covered with icing ;-) I could have easily cut the cake through the middle using floss while it was warm because the 8" round made it fairly tall. But I ran out of time and just had to pour the Chocolate Ganache (also from this website) over the top. Also, because I used a different size pan I needed to bake it longer- about an hour. I was afraid the outside was getting too crisp so I covered a circle of foil around outside while the center finished mostly. When it cooled the ishly-gooey center set up more. The cake went over so well at the party and was served within a few a hours of baking. Took me about 2 hours or more total (measuring, icing, etc). Lastly I had to use a REALLY LARGE mixing bowl...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by collegekid12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
It's a pretty good cake,it's not very sweet so it needs frosting.The plus side is that it's easy to make,doesn't include milk or eggs,and pretty decent in flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dimsum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This cake is very moist. The batter itself didn't taste that good so I was starting to worry about this one while it was baking. I wanted to bake a layered cake so I used 2 9-inch round pans and 30 minutes was the perfect baking time. Next time I will not use this for a layered cake because it is so soft and moist that the top layer sunk into the bottom quite a bit. I'm giving in 4 stars because it wasn't as "chocolate-y" as I had hoped. I'm going to try it again and maybe add some more cocoa or melted chocolate chips next time because I love the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This is my husbands favorite cake. It is quick & easy to make and comes out quite moist. I do think that it is better if you use 1 white sugar & 1 Brown sugar. I iced it with the Hard Chocolate Icing from this site & it was total chocolate overload. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEADTIRED

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This recipe worked great. I didn't have any vinegar so I excluded it and doubled the vanilla. Instead of a cake I made cupcakes and baked them for about 17 minutes. These turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This did not turn out well at all... it stuck in the (buttered) pan, and tasted not very sweet or rich... kinda bland. I will keep searching for the perfect chocolate cake recipe... this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Functional but a bit dissapointing; I followed it to a tee but it does indeed taste like one of those boxed mix cakes. Very easy though, but I wish the end product smelled as good as the batter did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Great recipe i use this for all my chocolate cakes. Very moist i use chocolate chips melted down and mixed in very chocolicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shakeera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States