Chocolate Oil Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This cake is very moist. The batter itself didn't taste that good so I was starting to worry about this one while it was baking. I wanted to bake a layered cake so I used 2 9-inch round pans and 30 minutes was the perfect baking time. Next time I will not use this for a layered cake because it is so soft and moist that the top layer sunk into the bottom quite a bit. I'm giving in 4 stars because it wasn't as "chocolate-y" as I had hoped. I'm going to try it again and maybe add some more cocoa or melted chocolate chips next time because I love the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This is my husbands favorite cake. It is quick & easy to make and comes out quite moist. I do think that it is better if you use 1 white sugar & 1 Brown sugar. I iced it with the Hard Chocolate Icing from this site & it was total chocolate overload. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEADTIRED

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This recipe worked great. I didn't have any vinegar so I excluded it and doubled the vanilla. Instead of a cake I made cupcakes and baked them for about 17 minutes. These turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This did not turn out well at all... it stuck in the (buttered) pan, and tasted not very sweet or rich... kinda bland. I will keep searching for the perfect chocolate cake recipe... this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Functional but a bit dissapointing; I followed it to a tee but it does indeed taste like one of those boxed mix cakes. Very easy though, but I wish the end product smelled as good as the batter did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Great recipe i use this for all my chocolate cakes. Very moist i use chocolate chips melted down and mixed in very chocolicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shakeera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Don't be deterred by this ill-named cake, it is simply delicious. I followed the recipe as-is, adding an additional 1/2 cup of cocoa powder per the advice I read in other reviews and I was thrilled with the final result. It turned out perfectly chocolate-y. This cake makes my stomach smile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I'm Hungry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
this cake tastes really nice :D i am only 14,and this is the first time for me to make a cake... i can't believe i can make it that good !! thanks for the great recipe :>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoebe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I had to bake this cake for 50 minutes to cook it through. I followed the recipe almost exactly except for substituting milk for some of the water. This cake did not have much chocolate flavor, and the cake was not moist. It did not have much sweetness and definitely needs a frosting or powdered sugar. It also needs more vanilla and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lechealpina
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Sooo easy to make. I had everything around! I used 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 white cause I was feeling creative. Simply delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lechealpina

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States