Chocolate Oil Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was delicious!! Very moist. Not sure what I did wrong though, because mine fell. It was like a molten chocolate in the middle but the other parts were very good. I added crushed walnuts as I am not a chocolate fan but I love nuts with any chocolate desert. It had a moist brownie flavor. I also added 1/4 cup more of cocoa powder. I also subbed out 1/2 cup of oil for 1/2 cup of applesauce. I melted some chocolate chips on top and then spread it across the cake and it is soooooo good. I gave it a 4 simply because I really think the additional cocoa was needed. Without the chocolate chips it would probably be good with confectioners sugar on top. If you like your cakes very sweet then you will probably need to add a bit more sugar. I also ended up cooking it for an additional 10 minutes because when I first tested it the center was too wet. This may have contributed to it falling. I had to set my timer for an additional 5 minutes twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I was a little nervous after mixing this up and seeing how thin the batter was and the way it smelled because of the vinegar...but let me tell you...this is one delicious cake! I did add some chocolate chips and a little extra vanilla to it after reading some other reviews, but I think it would still be perfect without them. Try this cake...I don't think you'll be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
As others suggested I made this with coffee (2 tsp instant coffee added to 2 cups boiling water, cooled) instead of water, and 1 tbsp of vanilla. Delicious but not very sweet. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This cake is wonderful,great chocolate taste. Made no changes.Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ganny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Fifty-two years ago, my mother-in-law called this "Crazy Cake"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Growing up we ALWAYS had this cake in the house. It was our dad's favorite and my mom always had one baked before the other was completely gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Richmond, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I grew up on this recipe - know in my family as Poor Man's Chocolate Cake" because there were no eggs in it. My mother always made a homemade chocolate/mocha frosting and to this day, every time I make it, the memories come back. My kids love it better than a store cake or box cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dolgeville, New York, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
My husband had this as a child and it was his favorite. His mom used to call it Wacky Cake, I think it may have been a cake from the depression because of the simple ingredients. Anytime we want a simple, moist, and delicious cake this is our go to. It is quick and great with just a dusting of confectioners sugar. Sixty years later and it is still his first choice for a birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This recipe was given to my Mom from a great-aunt back in 1962...it was called "Crazy Cake", due to having no eggs in it. A family favorite, I bake it often. Because a 9 X 13 cake is more difficult to store, I usually bake it in a bundt pan sprayed with Pam for Baking spray. Comes out very easily - never had one stick yet! I have added chopped chocolate chips and also jarred mincemeat for delicious results. Easy recipe to add to. I DO use 3/4 c. cocoa (my preference) along with 1 T vanilla and 1 tsp. salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This was the easiest scratch cake I've ever made! I used lactose free milk instead of water. I honestly think I could've just sat down with the bowl of batter and a spoon and been very happy. I have a ridiculous sweet tooth so the next piece I have I think I'll drizzle some caramel or chocolate sauce or throw some frosting on it, but if you're not huge into super sweet things this might be just right for you. My family really, really liked it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States