Chocolate Oil Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This cake is wonderful,great chocolate taste. Made no changes.Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ganny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Fifty-two years ago, my mother-in-law called this "Crazy Cake"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Growing up we ALWAYS had this cake in the house. It was our dad's favorite and my mom always had one baked before the other was completely gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Richmond, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I grew up on this recipe - know in my family as Poor Man's Chocolate Cake" because there were no eggs in it. My mother always made a homemade chocolate/mocha frosting and to this day, every time I make it, the memories come back. My kids love it better than a store cake or box cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dolgeville, New York, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
My husband had this as a child and it was his favorite. His mom used to call it Wacky Cake, I think it may have been a cake from the depression because of the simple ingredients. Anytime we want a simple, moist, and delicious cake this is our go to. It is quick and great with just a dusting of confectioners sugar. Sixty years later and it is still his first choice for a birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This recipe was given to my Mom from a great-aunt back in 1962...it was called "Crazy Cake", due to having no eggs in it. A family favorite, I bake it often. Because a 9 X 13 cake is more difficult to store, I usually bake it in a bundt pan sprayed with Pam for Baking spray. Comes out very easily - never had one stick yet! I have added chopped chocolate chips and also jarred mincemeat for delicious results. Easy recipe to add to. I DO use 3/4 c. cocoa (my preference) along with 1 T vanilla and 1 tsp. salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This was the easiest scratch cake I've ever made! I used lactose free milk instead of water. I honestly think I could've just sat down with the bowl of batter and a spoon and been very happy. I have a ridiculous sweet tooth so the next piece I have I think I'll drizzle some caramel or chocolate sauce or throw some frosting on it, but if you're not huge into super sweet things this might be just right for you. My family really, really liked it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This recipe is the same as one my daughter gave me called "Six Minute Chocolate Cake" only hers is only half the recipe and makes one 8 or 9 inch layer. Perfect for a small family. You can mix it right in the baking pan. We sometimes substitute some or all of the water for coffee. Great with raspberry jam heated to syrupy consistency and drizzled over top and a little whip cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This DOES have a name--Wacky Cake. Surprised no one else recognized it. It's a depression era recipe, and this is the same recipe as mine except that mine takes 2/3 C oil. Maybe that's why some are finding this recipe a bit oily. I've always added an extra teaspoon of vanilla as it boosts the flavor, and dark cocoa is best with this recipe. You won't like this cake if you only like cakes that are light and have a fine crumb. This one is dense and moist. Takes no milk or eggs, thus it's usefulness during the depression. Look it up online; there are quite a few variations on this theme. Perhaps the current economic climate is forcing it's comeback...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
You don't have ti dirty a bowl. Just mix all the dry ingredients in the baking pan & make three "wells" in dry ingredients. Put vinegar in one, oil in one and vanilla in the other. Pour water over the top and stir well. I also add a tsp. of cinnamon in with the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States