Chocolate Oil Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I have made this recipe for 30 years with a variety of icings however, I don't use as much flour when I make this and also only use half the soda. THIS IS THE OLD WACKY CAKE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Panola, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
No one in my family of 4 cared for this cake. I followed one of the reviews to use 3/4 of oil and 2 tsp. of vanilla. It is so heavy and not much flavor. I prefer light and fluffy cakes. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
What a delightful, easy dessert. I made it for Valentine's Day gift - quick, easy, moist, chocolatey, what else can you ask for. The recipe was followed exactly- make sure that you use fresh baking soda - baking is difficult in high altitudes and this was perfect. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I grew up on this cake, in my family it's referred to as "THE Chocolate Cake". My mom found the recipe in the newspaper (when eggs were hard to get during the depression). It was the B-day cake requested most of the time by my kids. You can just dust it with confectioners sugar if you like, but I make a homemade mocha-chocolate frosting, which my son said is the BEST combination. The frosting is light and fluffy, but this cake is a very dense moist cake (not light and fluffy). The only change (from my mom's recipe) is we always used cider vinager (I don't think it really matters). But it does NOT work to substitute applesauce for oil (as I read in one of the reviews). We LOVE this cake, and it's now on a third generation (my grandkids) asking for it when their B-day comes around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This recipe dates back to the depression & war years, when eggs, butter & milk were rationed. You could find the recipe in government issued recipe booklets with suggestions on how to cook & bake without eggs & dairy. The cake was known as Whacky cake, Depression cake, Eggless Butterless Chocolate cake, One Pan Chocolate Cake, Three Hole Chocolate cake, & a slew of other quirky nicknames it garnered throughout the years, but this is the first time I've seen it referred to as Chocolate Oil Cake! This is a good basic chocolate cake recipe & without fail, it'll be moist everytime you make it. I can assure you though, from years of baking this cake & the fact it calls for vinegar & soda for levening, you will receive a mixture of positive & negative feedback comments such as: 'I love this cake' ... 'this cake tastes great' .... 'This cake is wonderful!' .... Or: 'Eww, I don't like this cake'... 'What's wrong with this cake?' 'Why does this cake taste funny?'... Happy Baking!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I liked it, it was good, just not the flavor I was expecting. I never really thought about how much flavor eggs give to cakes. I think I prefer 'egg recipes' better. This was good, if I didnt have eggs & was In need of a chocolate cake fix - I would definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was delicious!! Very moist. Not sure what I did wrong though, because mine fell. It was like a molten chocolate in the middle but the other parts were very good. I added crushed walnuts as I am not a chocolate fan but I love nuts with any chocolate desert. It had a moist brownie flavor. I also added 1/4 cup more of cocoa powder. I also subbed out 1/2 cup of oil for 1/2 cup of applesauce. I melted some chocolate chips on top and then spread it across the cake and it is soooooo good. I gave it a 4 simply because I really think the additional cocoa was needed. Without the chocolate chips it would probably be good with confectioners sugar on top. If you like your cakes very sweet then you will probably need to add a bit more sugar. I also ended up cooking it for an additional 10 minutes because when I first tested it the center was too wet. This may have contributed to it falling. I had to set my timer for an additional 5 minutes twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I was a little nervous after mixing this up and seeing how thin the batter was and the way it smelled because of the vinegar...but let me tell you...this is one delicious cake! I did add some chocolate chips and a little extra vanilla to it after reading some other reviews, but I think it would still be perfect without them. Try this cake...I don't think you'll be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
As others suggested I made this with coffee (2 tsp instant coffee added to 2 cups boiling water, cooled) instead of water, and 1 tbsp of vanilla. Delicious but not very sweet. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This cake is wonderful,great chocolate taste. Made no changes.Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ganny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States