Chocolate Oil Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Made this for hubby's birthday since he loves chocolate cake and it was a big success. I hate to admit I've only made cakes from scratch a couple of times. Now that I've found this one, I will definitely make it more often! Easy and delicious. Served with the Chocolate Frosting I submitted by tianne on this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This was a pretty decent cake. I must have done something wrong, because it came out a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leezard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I made this recipe for a quick last minute dessert for a dinner I was hosting. I was nervouse about the outcome, but it was a huge hit! I served it slightly warm with chocolate frosting. This cake was sooooooo moist. I will make this again for sure. The next time I will try substituting applesauce as I feel guilty eating a cake with that much oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy_H
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
great easy reciepe. my husband likes to make this for the kids all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Just tried this today. Took it to a luncheon and got rave reviews. Very easy to make. I put the Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting from this web site on it. Very good. The ladies ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This cake is AWESOME! My dad is vegetarian and doesn't eat eggs or anything with eggs, so it is perfect. My grandpa in a chocoholic and he really loved it. When I was searching for this recipe, I was actually looking for an oil cake that my grandma use to make. The recipe is pretty much the same, but you marble it. Add all the dry ingredients, minus the cocoa, and mix with the wet ingredients. Divide the mix and add the cocoa to half. When you are pouring it in the pan mix bits of the cocoa and regular batter. Afterwards, pull a fork through the batter to mix it up even more. This recipe is just perfect. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
it turned out just a little dry. i made it for my son's bday cake. I made a peppermint frosting and it was very tasty. i would make it again but maybe add a little something to help with the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonijolene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is my husbands most favorite cake in the world!!!! Everytime I make it I top it with a butter cream frosting, last time I baked it in a greased and floured bundt pan for his birthday and it was awesome! Sometimes I use 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white, and it is just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariescottage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I made this because I wanted a recipe without butter (I didn't have any and its expensive and hard to get in china) and this cake tasted really good. Maybe not quite as good as with butter, but for kids it was perfect. Made cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Sorry guys but I was not impressed. I didn't think it was all that great, so I started over with a different recipe that uses butter instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROGERFOARD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States