Chocolate Oatmeal Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2000
It seems as though it's not correct to put that much corn syrup in the recipe. though it tasted fantastic, it was really runny. I followed the directions exactly. I would make this pie again, but I would decrease the amount of corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
This pie is actually pretty good, but very sweet. I cooked it about 20 minutes longer than the recipe called for, because it didn't want to set. Then after it cooled, it was a little too set. I probably should have only added 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Bonita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Really tasty. Reminds me of pecan pie, but obviously without the nuts. Very sweet. I'm definitely going to make it again, but will probably try cutting the corn syrup, as others have recommended. Try putting it in the refrigerator to make it set up faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sheldon, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This pie was delicious and a definite hit with company. Because the pie is so rich and heavy, I added a meringue to the top to add a light and fluffy texture. Everyone seemed to love it. Meringue: 1 tbs cornstarch, 1/3 c cold water, 5 egg whites (room temp), 1/4 tsp cream of tarter, 1/2 c sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla. Dissolve cornstarch in water- bring to a boil then remove from heat. Beat egg whites and cream of tarter on high with whisk attachment until foamy. Add sugar while beating constantly. Thoroughly beat in corn starch paste and then vanilla. The mixture should stand in soft peaks. Add to top of pie immediately. SO Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This pie was SO GOOD! I made it for Thanksgiving and it got RAVE reviews! I can't wait to make another for Christmas (or two!) I did use only the 3/4 cup of karo syrup as recommended by others - so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamandAubreysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
This pie recipe was pretty good. I did decrease the amount of corn syrup to 1/2 cup and used Wilbur buds. The Wilbur Dark chocolate I chopped up. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Addison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
The only reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 is because it is so incredibly sweet. If you like really sweet chocolate desserts, then this is a 10 star recipe for you. I took a previous reviewer's recommendation of cutting back the corn syrup, which I did to 3/4 of a cup, and it seemed to have the right consistency when cutting. I'm not sure if I'll make this pie again or not, but that's just a personal preference because of the sweetness. The rest of the family seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
halfway between healthy (the oatmeal) and sinful (syrup and chocolate)...good combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Very yunmy, but still very sweet even though I decreased the amount of corn syrup to 1/2 cup. I also used mini chocolate chips/cinnamon chips combo. Love the hint of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Absolutely delicious!! Served with whipped cream (for me) and ice cream (for the kids)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States