Chocolate Oatmeal Drop Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I prepared these as directed. The first batch out of the oven was undercooked and greasy, so I read reviews and discovered that many folks suggested baking at 350 for 10 minutes. This is absolutely required! The cookies were still a little greasy, and for the third batch I did not even grease the cookie sheet. I will not make these again as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iselle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Nice texture. Moist. Very sweet. Made these because I had an extra box mix on hand, but I don't think I would buy a mix just to make these. I could definitely taste the cake mix. Loads of people at work loved these though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by onenita
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made these last night and my husband really liked them so I decided you needed a picture to so them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onenita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
These are delicious with the perfect mix of chewy and just a bit of crunch. I've made cookies with cake mixes before that were ok, but these were a hit! I made the suggested changes of using 1 cup of butter and 2 eggs and I baked them at 350 for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I picked this recipe because wanted to get rid of a German Chocolate Cake Mix that I bought instead of regular chocolate cake mix. I followed the recipe but added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and 1/2 cup of dried cranberries. These weren't chocolate enough for us. Super easy to do. If you stick with the shortening instead of all butter, the cookie will not spread out that much. Infact, after the first batch I had to smash them flat with the back of a measuring cup, because they stayed too round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
These cookies are easy to make and quite tasty. I used 2 whole sticks of butter instead of shortening and margarine. i also used regular sugar instead of brown. Dried cranberries instead of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bad bad kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I did what others did and used an entire cup of butter (2 sticks) instead of half shortening. I also cooked them at 350 instead of 325 and had to cook them for like 10 minutes to get them properly lightly browned. I did not have chocolate chips so I added a little less than 1/4 cup of chocolate hershey syrup. I think it thinned the batter a BIT too far but not sure. The cookies are very flat when they cook and are chewy. Very good. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Wow! These turned out wonderfully! They tasted great warm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
EXCELLENT! I followed reviewers' suggestion and used 1 cup butter instead of the margarine & shortening and 2 eggs instead of just one. Also, I cooked it at 350 degrees for 9 minutes. DELICIOUS!!!!! Thanks for this recipe! I finally hit jackpot after looking for so long! And to think you use cake mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maywood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was excellent. I used peanut butter chips and devil's food cake. They don't spread very much, so you might want to flatten cookies slightly if you are making balls with a scoop like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Kimball Fitzgerald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wonewoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Valle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States